You are here: HomeWallOpinionsArticles2013 06 24Article 277691

Sports Features of Monday, 24 June 2013

Source: Sammy Heywood Okine

SWAG Best Footballers

The annual Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards was instituted in 1973. It was the brainchild of Mr. B.B. Bismark, a sports enthusiast and one time team manager of the Black Stars, who was later enstooled Aburihene and became a patron of SWAG. He mooted the idea which was accepted and he bought the first two trophies for the Best Player and Goal King.

The Awards had a humble beginning and the very first year saw three sportsmen – incidentally all footballers- being honoured. Peter Lamptey of Accra Hearts of Oak won the “Baba Yara Shield” for emerging the top goals scorer in the 1973 league; Dan Oppong of Asante Kotoko received the “Robert Mensah Shield” for being adjudged the best defender while Akwetteh Armah of Cornerstone was also honoured for being the most outstanding utility player of the season. Each player received 50 Cedis cash donated by Mr. B.B. Bismark in addition to the special shields.

The ceremony was held at the Accra Sports Stadium at the end of the second and well organized SWAG Cup match when Hearts beat Corners 1-0 on Sunday December 23, 1973. Robert Hammond scored the only goal. Col. Robert Kotei presented the awards to Dan Oppong and Peter Lamptey while Lt. Col. M.P. Simpe-Asante presented that of Akweteh Armah. Col. S.H. Brew- Graves then GFA chairman presented the SWAG Cup to Hearts Captain, Kofi Bruce. The match was officiated by B.K Frimpong- Manso.


Below are the winners

of the “SWAG Footballer of the Year” Award since its inception in 1973 YEAR PLAYER CLUB 1973 Akwetteh Armah Cornerstone

1974 Mohammed Ahmed Polo Hearts of Oak

1975 No Award -

1976 Dan Owusu Bofoakwa

1977 No Award -

1978 Abdul Razak Kotoko

1979 John Yawson Hearts of Oak

1980 Francis Kumi Kotoko

1981 John Essien Hasaacas

1982 Kofi Abbrey Hasaacas

1983 Opoku Nti Kotoko

1984 Joe Odoi Hearts of Oak

1985 No Award -

1986 No Award -

1987 No Award -

1988/89 No Award -

1989/90 Abedi Pele Ayew Marseille

1990/91 Nii Odartey Lamptey Anderlecht

1992 Anthony Yeboah Eintracht Frankfurt

1993 Daniel Addo Leverkusen

1994 Charles Kobina Akunnor Wolfsburg

1995 Anthony Yeboah Eintracht Frankfurt

1996 Sam Johnson Hearts of Oak

1997 Nibombe Wake (Togolese) Goldfields

1998 Samuel Osei Kuffour Bayern Munich

1999 Sammy Osei Kuffour Bayern Munich

2000 Emmanuel Osei Kuffour Hearts of Oak

2001 Samuel Osei Kuffour Bayern Munich

2002 Charles Taylor Asampong Hearts of Oak

2003 Aziz Ansah Asante Kotoko

2004 Stephen Appiah Juventus

2005 Stephen Appiah Juventus

2006 John Mensah Rennes

2007 Michael Essien Chelsea

2008 John Paintsil Fulham

2009 Dominic Adiyiah AC Milan

2010 Asamoah Gyan Sunderland

2011 Andre Ayew Marseille

2012 ?

Who wins on Saturday 29th June 2013…?

Compiled by Sammy Heywood Okine, SWAG Archives Director / Deputy. General Secretary