You are here: HomeWallOpinionsArticles2014 08 13Article 321010

Opinions of Wednesday, 13 August 2014

Columnist: Asamoah, George Kwame

Mahama Deliberately Marginalizing Ashantis ??

By George Kwame Asamoah

It has become glaringly apparent that the National Democratic Congress led by His Excellency President John Dramani Mahama has embarked on a premeditated and intentional effort to sideline people from the Ashanti region of Ghana from holding any significant position in the current government.

Within the NDC are some very qualified and eloquent personalities from the Ashanti region, yet there is only one cabinet minister from the the region as per the recent shamble of a ministerial reshuffle ( Dr. Kwaku Agyemang Mensah for Health)

The begging question is WHY?? Why is President Mahama's government made up of predominantly ministers from the northern sector of the country and the Brong Ahafo region? Why?? with a few scattered hand-picked Voltarians and Greater Accra?

Just for the purpose of clarification, below is a list of the so-called final list of Ministers and where they come from:

1. Foreign Affairs & Regional Integration: Hanna Serwaa Tetteh (MP) - CENTRAL
2. Attorney General & Ministry of Justice: Marietta Brew Appiah-Oppong - BRONG AHAFO
3. Defence: Benjamin Bewa-Nyog Kunbuor (MP) NORTHERN
4. Finance: Seth Emmanuel Terkper - EASTERN
5. Interior: Mark Owen Woyongo (MP) - UPPER EAST
6. Food & Agriculture: Fifi Fiavi Franklin Kwetey (MP) - VOLTA
7. Communications: Dr. Edward Omane Boamah - EASTERN
8. Education: Professor Naana Opoku- Agyeman - CENTRAL
9. Employment & Labour Relations: Haruna Iddrisu (MP) - NORTHERN
10. Transport: Mrs. Dzifa Attivor - VOLTA
11. Health: Dr. Kweku Agyeman Mensah - ASHANTI
12. Lands & Natural Resources: Nii Osah Mills - GT ACCRA
13. Environment, Science, Technology: Akwasi Oppong Fosu (MP) WESTERN
14. Local Gov’t & Rural Development: Julius Debrah - EASTERN
15. Water Resources, Works & Housing: Alhaji Collins Dauda (MP) BRONG AHAFO
16. Tourism, Culture & Creative Arts: Mrs. Elizabeth Ofosu Agyare - BRONG AHAFO
17. Chieftaincy & Traditional Affairs: Dr. Henry Seidu Daannaa- UPPER WEST
18. Energy & Petroleum: Emmanuel Kofi Buah (MP) - WESTERN
19. Roads & Highway: Alhaji Inusah Fuseini (MP) - NORTHERN
20. Youth & Sports: Mahama Ayariga (MP) - UPPER EAST
21. Gender, Children & Social Protection: Mrs. Nana Oye Lithur - GT ACCRA
22. Fisheries & Aquaculture: Sherry Hanny Ayitte - GT ACCRA
23. Trade & Industry: Ekwow Spio-Garbrah - CENTRAL
24. Minister of State: Alhaji Rashid Pelpuo (MP) - UPPER WEST
25. Minister of State: Mrs. Comfort Ghansah (MP) GT ACCRA
26. Minister of State: Dr. Mustapha Ahmed (MP) UPPER EAST
27. Minister of State: Elvis Afriyie- Ankrah - VOLTA
28. Minister of State: Alhassan Azong (MP) - UPPER EAST

Take a careful look at the seat of government, the Flagstaff House, there is the Northern Ghana
dominance there too; Raymond Atuguba, Sulley Gariba, Baba Kamara, Clement Apaak etc.

Why?? Mr. President Why??
I want to hope that this is an oversight, not deliberate, because I personally know a few brilliant young and
dynamic Ashantis doing some great things for the NDC and the country as a whole.

I am personally appealing to your excellency to make the necessary effort to correct this perceived regional imbalance.