You are here: HomeEntertainment2015 12 23Article 402925

Entertainment of Wednesday, 23 December 2015


Music Council of Ghana tamed Ghamro

The meeting, held at the Registrar Generals conference room yesterday at about 3pm and lasted for about 3 hours saw misapprehensions from both sides in the music industry.

The Music Council of Ghana wanted GHAMRO to tell them as stakeholders since coming into office the terms of appointment of the current board. They also put before GHAMRO the current workforce employed in the offices of GHAMRO and wanted them to declare all assets and liabilities left behind by the Carlos Sakyi led administration.

The following are some of the questions the stakeholders at the meeting wanted answers from GHAMRO

Why must TEXT messages sent to certain GHAMRO members telling them that there will be no distribution of royalties this December.

How much money was received from government for disbursement in 2015.

They asked GHAMRO to account for all monies collected from Government this year to the tune of approximately 2 million cedis.

The Chairman of GHAMRO, Kojo Antwi in his response said he don’t know the Music Council of Ghana whereas the Music Council of Ghana executive claims he has even honor an invitation from them to attend their activities which he did attend so they are surprise to hear that from him. He also said that, they will not account to anybody until their Annual General meeting in March 2016 where all stakeholders will be made available.

The Acting Registrar General in a word of caution advised the leadership of GHAMRO to be transparent and accountable in their dealings since the organization belongs to all stakeholders.

The meeting was attended on behalf of GHAMRO by, Kojo Antwi, Nana Tuffuor, Ahmed Banda (Bandex) Bessa Simons, Zapp Mallet, Augustina Addison, Diana Hopeson, Mary Ghansah, Nana Kwaku Duah (Tic Tac), Rex Omar, Abraham Adjetey and Jonathan Cudjoe.

Representing the Music Council of Ghana at the meeting were Akosua Adjepong, George William Dickson, Peter Wilson- Otchere, Ama Afriyie and Ehgan Awuku.

Others from the Outside include Idikoko, Abeiku Sagoe and Joh Mensah Sarpong.