You are here: HomeEntertainment2010 10 06Article 194753

Entertainment of Wednesday, 6 October 2010

Source: Gogo Gorden Amoah/Crystal Clear Lens

Ghanaian Media Blamed For The Drop Of Kubolor And Mensa From 2010 MOBO Awards

Tinny, Wanlov Kubolor and M3nsa joined other top African artists to compete for this year’s Music Of Black Origin (MOBO) Awards for the Best African Act category.

The provisional nominations were announced recently and Tinie Tempah, N-Dubz, Professor Green, Plan B and Dizzee Rascal received the most nominations at this year’s awards in association with Lebara Mobile.

According to Music Of Black Origin's (MOBO)voting academy, Ghana's sexiest sensational Ga lyricist ''T I N N Y'' was the only lucky artist from Ghana to have made it to the final five in this year Best African Act Category. When the crystal clear lens took the trouble to find out what really went wrong as to why among the three vibrant Ghanaian artists that was nominated for the best African artist category has to be dropped leaving.

We got in touch with tinny in a telephone interview and all he was drumming on was if the Ghanaian media had switched a little attention to high jack the public voting sedjement this disaster wouldn't have happen. The reporter was not satisfied enough of the response given by tinny, these took him to the manager of kankpe records Mr. Richard Agyemang Beiko who shared almost the same story line with his artist tinny. That in as much as Ghana seem to have lost out on two of its three nominations at the provisional stage,he believes the time for Ghanaians to rally behind tinny the only artist left to battle for success for Mother Ghana endorsing his spot on the final list is now.

the 2009African artist of the year a la Hip-hop World Awards Glo and Cadburys UK fair trade Ambassador, he however believed that if the Ghanaian media had made it a true picture by high jacking the story and urging them to log on to the MOBO official website and had voted massively for them , Mensa and Kubolor might have made it to the final five.

"I think i owe my confirmation to God and the fact that i am quite popular oversees thus its reflection in my being confirmed officially as a nominee for this year i hope the press will grant me the needed exposure so Ghanaians in general can support this Nation task" he said. When the Crystal Clear Lens contacted the management of Kankpe Records to confirm the news, the manager for tinny Richard Agyemang Berko confirmed the nomination and blamed the Ghanaian press for Mensah and Kubolor's in ability to have made the grade and wished them all the best in subsequent endeavors but express the hope that inspite of the obvious threat Somali-born K'naan posed to his Artists' chances,not even the Nigerian pair of P-Square and JJC Ethiopia's Mulatu Astatke can claim the ultimate from his ward.

Celebrating its 15th year, the MOBO Awards has helped champion the extraordinary rise of urban music over the past two decades from niche to now leading the UK charts, and will celebrate the cream of British artists from the past years at its star-studded ceremony in Liverpool, on October 20th this year.

South London rapper Tinie Tempah, leads this year’s nominations having exploded onto the music scene in 2010, earning himself a staggering 4 nominations for Best Newcomer, Best UK Act, Best Video and Best Song in association with PRS for Music for his number 1 single “Pass Out”.

To celebrate the 15th anniversary of the MOBO Awards in the UK, this year’s Best UK Act in association with Lebara Mobile, Best International Act, and Best African Act will all start off with 15 nominations each, giving talent the chance to be voted into the ultimate top 5 within their chosen category.

Meanwhile the MOBO Tour is set to hit six of the UK’s hottest cities over six days between 13th October and 19th October 2010. By arrangement with Coda and SJM, the tour will be headlined by DJ and Boy Better Know frontmant, Skepta. The chart-topping emcee will take to the stage alongside a host of fresh, new urban talent. Also on the line is Aggro Santos, Donae’o, Scorcher, Mz Bratt, Jodie Connor, Maverick Sabre, Rough Diamondz, and Angel.