You are here: HomeNewsElections 20082008 12 08Article 154245

General News of Monday, 8 December 2008

Source: GNA

Papa Owusu-Ankomah retains Sekondi seat

Sekondi, Dec. 8, GNA - Papa Owusu-Ankomah, incumbent Member of Parliament for the Sekondi Constituency has retained the seat. He polled a total of 13,005 votes, representing 55.41 per cent to beat Betty Bosomtwe-Sam of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) who polled 9,578 representing 40.81 percent. Madam Hildergard Krakue of the Convention People's Party (CPP) polled 727, Frederick Akor Larbi, People's National Convention (PNC) had 88 votes and Oliver P. Vanderpuye-Orgle, independent candidate had 787 votes.

The total valid votes cast were 23,672 with a total of 202 rejected and total registered voters for the constituency were 37,807. In the presidential race, Nana Akufo-Addo of the NPP won 14,226, representing 60.88, Professor John Evans Atta Mills of the NDC had 8,145, representing 34.86, Dr. Papa Kwesi Nduom of the CPP 763, representing 3.27 per cent, Dr. Edward Mahama, 262, Mr. Thomas Ward-Brew of the DPP, 30 representing 0.13 per cent, Mr. Emmanuel Asante-Antwi, DFP, 29 votes representing 0.12, Mr. Kwsi Amoafo-Yeboah, Independent 24 votes representing 0.10 percent and Kwabena Adjei RPD, 13 votes representing 0.16 percent.

Send your news stories to and features to . Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter