You are here: HomeNewsElections 20082009 07 09Article 165112

General News of Thursday, 9 July 2009

Source: Office of Kwesi Amoafo-Yeboah

Independent Prez Candidate denied invitation

The Independent Presidential Candidate for the 2008 general elections, Kwesi Amoafo-Yeboah has been denied formal invitation to all occasions surrounding Obama’s visit.

According Felix Anamang an aide to Kwesi Amoafo-Yeboah, Protocol confirmed that the independent candidate is not recognized for the occasion though all other presidential candidates in last year’s elections have been duly invited. Invited presidential candidates are Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of New Patriotic Party, (NPP) Dr Paa Kwesi Nduom of Convention People’s Party (CPP) and Dr. Edward Nasigrie Mahama of Peoples National Convention's (PNC).

Others are Emmanuel Ansah-Antwi of Democratic Freedom Party's (DFP), Mr Thomas Ward Brew of Democratic People’s Party (DPP) and Mr Kwamena Adjei of the Reformed Patriotic Democrats.

It would be recalled that Amoafo-Yeboah was the surprise of last year’s general elections to many who thought he could not even feature on the ballot paper to the extent of performing better than some of the political parties.