You are here: HomeNewsElections 20082016 10 13Article 477201

General News of Thursday, 13 October 2016


I erred in filling forms - Henry Lartey

The 2016 Presidential candidate of the Great Consolidated Popular Party Dr. Henry Herbert Lartey has admitted he erred in the filling of his nomination form.

According to Dr. Lartey, he mistakenly filled a part of the nomination form meant for his vice presidential candidate, but maintains the Electoral commission should have allowed him to rectify the error.

“How could they have messed up like that, I’m so saddened that this is happening, at one point I supported the EC all the time when the New Patriotic Party(NPP) was bashing them but I now understand why Mac Manu and John Boadu attack them, now look at what the EC has done. In my anxiety to finish quickly, I made a mistake by filling my name at the vice presidential candidate side and the EC couldn’t have called us to correct it, how long will it have taken to correct it?," he told the media at a press briefing in Accra Thursday.

He added: “We have to be very very careful, the EC should be very careful, because we want credible elections and should not give people reasons to go to court again.”

His lawyer, Dr. Morris Ampaw, explained the errors were genuine and warns the posture of the EC might plunge Ghana into chaos.

Dr Henry Herbert Lartey of the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP); and 12 others were disqualified from the race over various anomalies. The other disqualified aspirants include the flag bearer of the All People's Congress (APC), Hassan Ayariga; Dr Edward Mahama of the People's National Convention (PNC); Dr Agyenim Boateng of the United Front Party (UFP); Kofi Akpaloo of the Independent People's Party (IPP); Kwabena Adjei of the Reformed Patriotic Democrats (RPD); and Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom of the Progressive People's Party (PPP).

Others include: Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings(National Democratic Party)Mr Richard Nixon Tetteh (United Development Systems Party); Thomas Ward-Brew of the Democratic People’s Party (DPP); Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, an independent candidate, and Akua Donkor of the Ghana Freedom Party (GFP). Mr Akwasi Addae Odike of the United Progressive Party's nomination is on hold pending a court case.

Send your news stories to and features to . Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter