You are here: HomeNewsElections 20082012 12 10Article 259010

General News of Monday, 10 December 2012

Source: GNA

I Thank All Ghanaians For Confidence Reposed In Me- Prez Mahama

President John Dramani Mahama has commended Ghanaians for the confidence they have reposed in him by voting massively for him to clinch a one-time victory over his political opponents.

He said: “I accept the declaration and verdict of the Electoral Commission with humility and will like to commend all Ghanaians for the confidence they have reposed in me.”

President Mahama, who was speaking to Journalists at his Cantonment official residence in Accra after the declaration of Dr Kwadwo Afari-Gyan, Chairman of the Electoral Commission also thanked God for guiding Ghanaians through a sixth successive general election.

Flanked by the leadership of the National Democratic Congress and family members, President Mahama called on other candidates that contested him to respect the voice of Ghanaians.

“We must celebrate together as Ghanaians and refrain from anything that will derail the peace and unity we have enjoyed over the years,” President Mahama added.

President Mahama promised to discharge his duties as the President of the Republic diligently to the satisfaction of all Ghanaians irrespective of their geographical location.

The Chairman of the Electoral Commission (EC), Dr Kwadwo Afari-Gyan announced yesterday night that he polled 5,574,761 votes (50.70%) while his closest contestant, Nana Akufo-Addo of the New Patriotic (NPP) polled 5,248,898 votes (47.74%).

The other results were:

Dr Michael Abu Sakara Foster of the Convention People’s Party (CPP) - 20,323 (0.18%).

Mr Hassan Ayariga of the People’s National Convention (PNC) - 24,617 (0.22%)

Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP) - 64,362 (0.59%)

Dr Henry Lartey of the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP) - 38,223 (0.35%)

Mr Joseph Osei-Yeboah (Independent) - 15,201 (0.14%).

Mr Akwasi Addai of the United Front Party (UFP) - 8,877 (0.08%).

The percentage turn out was 79.43%

Total Registered voters were 14,158,890

Total votes cast were 11,246,982

Total Valid Votes -10,995,262

Total Rejected votes -251,720

Total constituencies – 275