You are here: HomeNewsElections 20082012 10 19Article 253669

General News of Friday, 19 October 2012

Source: GNA

Eight Presidential Candidates to contest Ghana’s Election 2012

The Electoral Commission (EC) on Thursday at the close of filing of nomination for December Presidential and Parliamentary polls cleared eight Presidential Candidates, whilst three parties and one Independent candidate were disqualified.

The Presidential Candidates for the seven parties were; President John Dramani Mahama of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), New Patriotic Party's (NPP) Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, Convention People's Party's (CPP) Dr Michael Abu Sakara Foster and Dr Paa Kwesi Nduom of the Progressive Peoples Party (PPP).

The rest are The Peoples National Convention's (PNC) Mr Hasan Ayariga, United Front Party’s (UFP) Mr. Akwasi Adddai Odike, the Great Consolidated Popular Party’s (GCPP) Mr Henry Lartey and an Independent Candidate, Mr Jacob Osei Yeboah.

Dr Kwadwo Afari-Gyan, EC Chairman, at the close of the two-day nomination period declared the eight candidates duly eligible.

The EC Chairman however cautioned the candidates that the endorsement of the nomination forms was based on the signing of the Statutory Declaration form saying, "We will now take our time to scrutinize the details provided, any false declaration is a crime and the culprit would face the full rigours of the law."

The Nomination forms of former First Lady Nana Konadu Agyemang Rawlings’ National Democratic Party (NDP) were reject by the EC as the Flag bearer failed to properly fill out her nomination forms and could not beat the deadline for submission of nomination forms.

The NDP had major errors on their forms and could not meet the deadline to rectify them hence they were disqualified.

The Ghana Freedom Party and the Yes Peoples’ Party also had their forms rejected.

Since 1992, Ghana has had uninterrupted democratic practice, conducting five globally acclaimed successful elections.

The EC had fixed October 17 and 18 for filing of both the Presidential and Parliamentary nominations for Election 2012.

Mr Kwadwo Sarfo Kantanka, EC Deputy Chairman in Charge of Operations, stated that: “In accordance with regulations 4 and 5 of the Public Elections Regulations, 2012, the Electoral Commission will receive nominations for the 2012 Presidential and Parliamentary Elections on the 17th and 18th of October”.

The EC therefore urged political parties desirous of sponsoring candidates for the Parliamentary elections and individuals who are interested in contesting the said elections to obtain nomination forms from the Returning Officers in the respective constituencies or the Regional Offices of the Commission.

The Commission further announced that the nomination fee for the Presidential Election was ten thousand Ghana Cedis (GH¢10,000.00) while that for the Parliamentary Elections was one thousand Ghana Cedis (¢1,000.00).

The statement said candidates were required to submit four copies of their recent photographs (bust) with red background showing the full face and both ears on submitting the nomination forms.

It called on political parties and individuals who wanted to contest the elections to take note and act accordingly.

Send your news stories to and features to . Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter