You are here: HomeNewsElections 20082016 10 13Article 477128

General News of Thursday, 13 October 2016

Source: Class FM

EC reports 13 presidential aspirants to police

The Electoral Commission (EC) has reported to the police and Attorney General, all the electoral and criminal offences identified during the vetting of nomination forms filed by presidential aspirants for the 2016 elections for investigations.

Mr Yussif Ayuba, Deputy Communications Director of the EC, made this known on Class91.3FM’s Executive Breakfast Show (EBS) on Thursday October 13 when he spoke with sit-in host Benjamin Akakpo.

It is recalled that the Chair of the EC, Mrs Charlotte Osei, had promised to refer all electoral offences based on which the commission disqualified some 13 aspirants to the police.

The affected persons are flag bearers of the All People's Congress (APC), Hassan Ayariga; Dr Edward Mahama of the People's National Convention (PNC); Dr Agyenim Boateng of the United Front Party (UFP); Kofi Akpaloo of the Independent People's Party (IPP); Kwabena Adjei of the Reformed Patriotic Democrats (RPD); and Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom of the Progressive People's Party (PPP).

The others include: Dr Henry Herbert Lartey of the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP); Mr Richard Nixon Tetteh (United Development Systems Party); Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings of the National Democratic Party (NDP); Thomas Ward-Brew of the Democratic People’s Party (DPP); Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, an independent candidate, and Akua Donkor of the Ghana Freedom Party (GFP). Mr Akwasi Addae Odike of the United Progressive Party's nomination is on hold pending a court case.

Mrs Osei cited among other things fraudulent signatures on the nomination forms.

Send your news stories to and features to . Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter