Cricket of Wednesday, 12 December 2012

Source: Prince Dornu-Leiku

Cosmos Buffaloes vow to defend Rugby 7s title

Hamza Diaba-Suleiman, flyback for title holders, Cosmos Buffaloes says his side are determined to be champions again when the 2012 Accra 7s Rugby tournament kicks off at the Ajax Park on the University of Ghana campus in Legon on Saturday.

Cosmos were ruthless in claiming the title last year courtesy a 27-5 victory over Dansoman Hurricanes in the final. They went on to also win the Ghana Rugby 7s League trophy earlier this year but Hamza says they are more hungrier than ever to win the season-ending tournament that expands tremendously to an expected total of 21 teams including one from outside this country.

“We are ready for all the teams, I just can’t wait. Yes, I’ve been training with my team because we need to retain the title we won last year and I think we are ready to do it,” Hamza Diaba-Suleiman told in an exclusive interview. The player who was part of the Ghana Rugby 7s team which finished second at the Confederation of Africa Rugby continental tournament in Togo back in June is also unabated with the opposition promised to be presented by Police Rugby Club of Nigeria who become the first non-Ghanaian team to play in the Accra Rugby 7s championship.

“Well it’s going to be tougher that’s why we are training harder because over there (Nigeria), they play in more competitions than we do over here. But I can tell you yes the trophy would stay in Ghana, no two ways about that,” the Cosmos and Ghana flyhalf pledged.

Teams expected to compete on Saturday are Cosmos Buffaloes of course, University of Ghana, Dansoman Hurricanes, Accra Warriors, Oguaman Ocean Warriors (Cape Coast), Accra Sharks, Abura Bombers, Idas Sports, Ketu Lions, Spartans, Skyhawks, Tema Anchors, Ashanti Black Bulls as well as Police Rugby Club (Nigeria).

Fours sides, University of Ghana Ladies, national champions, Cosmos Ladies, Warrior Ladies and Floreat Ladies of Cape Coast will compete for glory in the women’s tournament.

Abura Bombers and Legon Titans meet in the Juvenile play-off.