You are here: HomeBusiness2013 05 06Article 273155

Business News of Monday, 6 May 2013

Source: UT/EFG

Roland Agambire wins Best Entrepreneur 2012

The Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Agams Group of Companies, Mr Roland Agambire, has won the Overall Best Entrepreneur 2012 Award for his exceptional contributions towards the country's socio-economic development.

He was presented with a plaque and decorated at the 3rd UT Ghana Entrepreneur Awards held in Accra on Saturday.

Dr Joseph Siaw Agyepong, the Executive Chairman of Zoomlion Company and the Jospong Group of Companies, was inducted into the Entrepreneur Hall of Fame for 2012 at the ceremony. He said Ghana should harness resources in order to create leverage for socio-economic opportunies in the world.

The awards ceremony was to honour outstanding Ghanaian and non-Ghanaian entrepreneurs for their contributions towards economic growth and job creation and attracted high profile diplomatic corps, including H.E.Mr.Gene A.Cretz ,US Ambassador, H.E. Mr Peter Jones, British High Commissioner, Rt Hon, Alderman Roger Gifford, the Lord Mayor of the City of London, H.E Mr Ajaneesh Kumah, Ag Indian High Commissioner and H.E. Mr Essor Wella,Togolese Ambassador.

The awards was on the theme: "Celebrating Entrepreneurship the Engine of Economic Growth".

Mr Agambire expressed appreciation for the honour bestowed on him and called for investments into research and development for Ghanaian entrepreneurs to build innovative products and brands that could compete on the international platform.

Mr Rashid Pelpuo, Minister of State at the Presidency in charge of Public-Private Partnerships, said the construction of harbours, airports, roads and energy facilities was priority area where the government would expect partnership from the private sector to develop.He said the government was on course in providing the linkages for small business to link up with big business growth.

Other award winners are Chief Paul Crystal Djirackor ,Chief Executive Officer, Crystal TV, Special Entrepreneur of the Year (Electronic Media) Mr. Saied Fakhry.Chairman Interplast Ghana Ltd, , Lifetime Entrepreneur Achievement, Alhaji Yusif Ibrahim, Chairman, Dara Salam Group of Companies, Special Serial Entrepreneur, Mr. Brian Maxted Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder of Kosmos Energy, Best International Entrepreneur, Mr Charles Yao Mensah, Executive Chairman, Myroc Group of Companies, Outstanding Entrepreneur Achievement, Mr Nabil Moukarzel Executive chairman Finatrade Group of Companies Special Entrepreneur (Food and Agribusiness)

The rest are,Mrs. Kate Quartey-Papafio ,Chief Executive Officer, Reroy Cables Limited ,Best Woman Entrepreneur, Ms.Eunice I.A Ogbugo, CEO. Eugo Terrano Ltd, Best Young Entrepreneur Mr.Elikem Nutifafa Kuenyehia, Managing Partner Oxford & Beaumont Solicitors Most-Promising Entrepreneur Mr Mike Nyinaku. CEO, Beige Village Golf Resort & Spa Ltd Best Entrepreneur (Hospitality & Tourism ) Mr Daniel McKorley ,CEO, McDan Shipping Ltd, Mr William Adjovu- Group Chief Executive Officer. Liberty Group of Companies, Best Entrepreneur (Banking & Finance ) Mr.Rockson Dogbegah, Chairman, Berock Ventures Ltd Best Entrepreneur (Building & Civil Engineering ) Best Entrepreneur ( Transport & Logistics) Other winners are Mrs. Ellen Hagan,Chief Executive Officer,L'aine Services Ltd, Best Entrepreneur of the Year 2012(Corporate Business Services) Mr. Gopal Vasu, Managing Director M & G Pharmaceutical Limited Best Entrepreneur (Pharmaceuticals Industry) Mr. Pak-Wo Shum Managing Director Aviation Alliance Ltd,Best Entrepreneur of the Year Award 2012 (Airline Industry) Dr. Wisdom Amegbletor, CEO, New Crystal Health Services Best Entrepreneur (Health Services) Mrs. Leticia Osafo-Addo,Chief Executive Officer, Processed Food & Spices Ltd ,Best Entrepreneur (Small Scale Industry) Mr. Ramesh M. Sadhwani & Mr. Mahesh A. Melwani ,Joint Group Managing Director ,Melcom Group of Companies Best Entrepreneur (Trading & Retailing ) Ms.Mireille Hitti Executive Director Duraplast Ghana Limited, Best Entrepreneur (Manufacturing Industry )

The rest are Mrs.Theresa Ayoade ,Executive Director ,Charterhouse Production Ltd, Best Entrepreneur ( Entertainment & Multimedia) Mr.Kofi Mangesi ,Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Business World Ltd, Best Entrepreneur ( Print Media ) Mr. Kwabena Nyarko, Executive Director,Buena Vista Homes Ltd Best Entrepreneur (Property & Real Estate Development) Mr. Kofi Dadzie Chief Executive Officer Rancard solutions, Best Entrepreneur (Information Communication Technology) Dr.Paul Kofi Fynn,Chancellor and Founder of Wisconsin International University College of Ghana ,Best Entrepreneur (Education Services).

Send your news stories to and features to . Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter