You are here: HomeBusiness2016 06 19Article 448885

Business News of Sunday, 19 June 2016


Duffuor, Bola Ray win Men of the Year awards at EMYs

Dr. Kwabena DuffuorDr. Kwabena Duffuor

Dr. Kwabena Duffuor, Chairman of the HODA Group of companies was on Saturday crowned Man of the Year (Governance) in the 2016 Exclusive Men of the Year (EMY) Awards held at the Banquet Hall, State House, Accra.

The accomplished business mogul emerged tops among nominees including Nana Agyeman Badu -Dormaahene, Mr Edward Doe Adjaho – Speaker of Parliament, Nana Kwabena Nketiah -Omanhene of Essikado, and Professor Joshua Alabi – Vice Chancellor (UPSA).

The former Central Bank Governor’s House Of Duffuor and Associates (HODA) Group includes one of Ghana’s most influential media empires – EIB Network, operators of Starr FM (Accra – Greater Accra), Ultimate FM (Kumasi – Ashanti Region), Kasapa FM, Live FM (Accra – Greater Accra), Agoo FM (Nkawkaw – Eastern Region), Empire FM (Takoradi – Western Region), Abusua FM (Kumasi – Ashanti Region), GHONE TV (Accra – Greater Accra) and Daily Heritage.

Other firms like StarLife Assurance, Star Assurance, uniBank, uniCredit, and a whole raft of other companies also belong to the HODA Group, which has been successfully run by Dr. Duffuor.

Nathan Kwabena Anokye Adisi, popularly known as Bola Ray, CEO of EIB Network also won the Man of the Year (Communication) award.

He beat off competition from nominees such as Ameyaw Debrah, Peace FM Morning Show host Kwami Sefa Kayi, Investigative Journalist Anas Aremeyaw Anas and Manasseh Azure Awuni.

Meanwhile, businessman and politician Dr. Papa Kwesi Nduom, won the Ultimate Man of the Year award.

The President of Groupe Nduom was nominated in the male category including Dr. Duffour, Osei Kwame Despite, CEO of Despite Group Of Companies; and Togbe Afede XIV, Asogli State Council President/SAS Group Of Companies.

Apostle Kwadwo Safo Kantanka of Kristo Asafo won the Technology Man of the Year category by beating competition from Dr Patrick Awuah – President, Ashesi University; Dr Osei Darkwa, President – Ghana Telecom University College; and Bright Simmons – Founder of mPedigree Network.

In the female category, Dr Beatrice Wiafe of the Breast Care International beat competition from other nominees such as Gifty Afenyi Dadzie of Women Aglow International, Dr Joyce R. Aryee of Salt & Light Ministries and Mrs Elizabeth Joyce Villas of Camelot Ghana Ltd to win the Ultimate Woman of the Year award.

The Awards ceremony, organised by Exclusive Men’s Magazine, Carbon AV and Mediaspace Cyber Media, aims to celebrate, recognise and reward great men, who have excelled in their fields of endeavour (business, fashion, education, technology and communication).

It also encourages leadership skills for achievement as well as challenges the youth to aspire to greatness.

The event was hosted by Starr FM’s Naa Ashorkor, host of mid-morning programme ‘The Zone’ on Starr 103.5FM and Nathaniel Attoh of Joy FM.