You are here: HomeBusiness2018 07 17Article 669649

Business News of Tuesday, 17 July 2018


2018 Institute of Financial and Economic Journalist awards launched

The Institute of Financial and Economic Journalists (IFEJ) has launched its 5th edition of the IFEJ Flamingo Awards for business and financial journalists on the theme “Towards better management of natural resources for inclusive growth and development”

Journalists, specifically, financial and economic reporters who write comprehensive and accurate business news, would be the beneficiaries of the IFEJ Flamingo Awards.

The IFEJ is a non-profit making organization, and its President, Rayborn Bulley, said the consumer who reads business stories should be able to analyze and evaluate whatever business news they have read, irrespective of their backgrounds, hence, the need for a comprehensive report.

Delivering his opening remarks at the launch, Mr. Bulley explained that the organization was looking forward to more entries for the 2018 awards.

He said, IFEJ would invite members of the public to help inform and educate the listening and reading public about the award scheme.

Mr. Bulley said, stories written from 31st July 2017 to 30th June 2018 are all qualified to be rendered in for assessment adding that "the submission of stories can be done at the IFEJ office on the graphic road"

On his part, the Head of Jury, Prof. John Gatsi explained the categories of the awards.

According to him, the awards will focus on some key areas such as originality, accuracy, quality and excellent communication.

“We also will focus on quality and that will be the overall presentation of the story, the planning, angle and arrangement of the story,” he said.

The IFEJ awards which is scheduled for December 2018 will be awarding journalists in the following categories;

1. Overall Best Business and Financial Journalist Award

2. Best Business/Manufacturing Feature/News story

3. Best Finance Feature/News story

4. Best Business of Health feature/News

5. Best in local Economy feature/News

6. Best Development feature/News story

7. Best Agribusiness feature/News story

8. Best Natural Resource feature/News story

9. Best Informational and communication Technology feature/News story

10. Best Tourism Feature/News story