You are here: HomeEntertainmentMusic2007 11 15Article 193476

Music of Thursday, 15 November 2007


Diana Hopeson is new MUSIGA president

Professor George Hagan, Chairman of National Commission on Culture has stressed the need to infuse culture and music into the national development agenda to accelerate the country’s development.

He said such infusion would help to showcase the rich cultural heritage and true identity of Ghanaians on the globe. Prof. Hagan made the call when addressing the Third Quadrennial National Congress of Musicians Union of Ghana (MUSIGA) in Sunyani. He explained that culture and music played paramount role in the development of any country and expressed concern that Ghanaian culture and music had been neglected for Western culture. Prof. Hagan expressed concern about the alarming rate of the use of profane language and indecent dressing in the musical industry and asked the union to endeavour to reverse the trend.

“It is through the use of our rich culture and music that we attained independence. We have to respect each other’s culture to enhance the prevailing peace and national security,” he added. Mr Azaanab Waksman, Brong Ahafo Regional Director of Centre for National Culture, said in-spite of the importance attached to music some of the lyrics tended to offend collective morality and sensibilities. He called on musicians not to put emphasis solely on the entertainment aspect of music but consider its education qualities. Mr Waksman said the Ministry of Culture attached great importance to arts and culture, hence the Parliamentary consent to institute November every year as Cultural Awareness Month to honour deserving musicians.

Alhaji Sidiku Buari, Out-Going National President of MUSIGA, advised members to ensure a unified front and help tackle problems facing the union.

“As a union we need unity to move forward towards our common interest and agenda. The union has entered a critical stage in national development and would not tolerate any mediocrity, ” he added. Members of the union in a popular acclamation elected Mrs Diana Hopeson as National President, Amanzeba Nat Brew, Second National Vice President, Nana Kwame Ampadu, General Secretary and Jude Lomotey, National Treasurer.

Mr A.B. Crentsil polled 58 votes to beat Mr Togbe Edina-Ansah who had 37 votes to be elected First National Vice President, Mr C.K. Morrison as National Welfare Officer in an election supervised by officials of the Electoral Commission.

Mr Bernard K. Bosumprah, Copyright Administrator, who swore in the new executives urged them to unite and concentrate on their duties to move the industry forward.

Mrs Hopeson expressed appreciation for the confidence reposed in them and pledged their readiness and commitment to work diligently to ensure the growth of the union.