You are here: HomeAfrica2021 04 03Article 1223134

Africa News of Saturday, 3 April 2021

Source: Eze, Contributor

Edo Excellence Award 17th edition was memorable – Sir Victor Uwaifo

Edo Excellence Award is an annual award to promote and recognize Edo people who have contributed significantly to Edo culture, Edo People in Edo State and in the African diaspora.

The 17th edition was held at Aisien Plaza in Benin city Edo state. The ceremony, which respected the Convid 19 regulations was attended by highly respected personalities, from Edo state Government, born Edo entertainers, celebrities and fans.

Many were worried and restless as you could perceive incorporated heartbeats, waiting to hear their names from the winning list.
Unfortunately, the bible earlier said many were called but few were chosen, 900 recipients competed and finally, Influence Akaba won at third position, Esther Edokpaye bagged 2nd position and Patrick Iyasere was finally unveiled to have the 1st position.

He was honoured as “Edo Patriotic of the Year” a decision rarely easy to conclude, some fans of various celebrities left the event centre happily and while some wept. It was a huge success from all we saw at the venue.

Sir Victor Uwaifo, the co-founder of the Edo Excellence Award in 2004, recently celebrated his 80th year birthday and was also part of the Judges at the Edo Excellence Awards 17th edition.

During the ceremony, the music legend critically condemned anger and hatred within the Edo People before he went to announce the winners.

American Born Nigerian Politician and historical musicologist DaddyRich born Mr Patrick Iyasere left the ceremony triumphantly with two recognitions, Edo Funk music legend “ Influence Akaba” left the scene with one winning plaque likewise Edo Funk music, female legend Esther Edokpaye (Lady of songs).

Watch the full video below;

Join our Newsletter