You are here: HomeSports2007 01 02Article 116610

Other Sports of Tuesday, 2 January 2007

Source: GNA

Three to vie for SWAG top most awards

Accra, Jan 2, GNA - The Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) has short-listed three athletes for the 2006 Sports Personality of the Year Award.

The short-listed sports men are Black Stars skipper Stephen Appiah, defender John Mensah(pictured) of Stade Rennes and long-jumper and two time winner, Ignatius Gaiasah. The ultimate winner shall be decided by the general public and the association.

A statement released by SWAG said members of the general public shall have 30% say in the voting process with the remaining 70 to be decided by the association before the annual awards night tentatively fixed for March. Other nominees are Male Footballer of the Year 96 Michael Essien - Chelsea (England), Stephen Appiah - Fernabache (Turkey) and John Mensah of Stade Renne (France) with Black Queens offensive midfielder Shilla Okine as the Female Footballer of the Year. Black Stars goalkeeper Richard Kingston and John Mensah will be awarded special meritorious awards for their special contributions to the success of the national team.

The senior national team, the Black Stars, which excelled at their maiden appearance at the World Cup has been adjudged Team of the Year. Vida Anim, Africa's sprint queen who won gold medals in the 100 and 200 meters at the last Africa Athletics Championship in Mauritius will pick the Female Athlete of the year award, with Gaisah, gold medalist at the 2006 Commonwealth Games in Melbourne going for the Male Athlete of the year. The rest of the winners are Discovery of the Year - Anita Amankwah (Black Queens), Alhajie Saanie Mohamed (Ashgold) - Promising Player of the Year, Referee of the Year - Alex Kotey, Professional Boxer of the Year 96 Yakubu Amidu, Amateur Boxer of the Year - Awusoni Yekini, Volleyball Player of the Year - Iddrisu Banisou, Hockey Player of the Year Salia Nsalbini (male) Emily Aggrey - (female), Majetie Fetrie - Weightlifter of the year. Also in line for awards are Young Golfer of the Year - Nicolo Catto, female golfer of the year - Mona Captan, Dedication and Valour - Cynthia Akweley Lamptey (Fire Service), chairman of the year, Johnson Cliff Aboagye, chairman of the Ghana Weightlifting and Body Building Association (GWBBA) - Chairman of the Year with a special award to be conferred on Ataa Lartey of Street Academy, a Non Governmental Organization (NGO).

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter