You are here: HomeSports2020 05 22Article 959227

Sports News of Friday, 22 May 2020


Six Ghanaians retained in latest CAF revised standing committees

Kurt is a member of the AFCON Organizing Committee Kurt is a member of the AFCON Organizing Committee

Six Ghanaians have maintained their respective positions on the latest CAF Standing Committees list released by the continent’s football governing body.

In a letter addressed to all Member Associations, dated Tuesday, May 19, 2020, CAF provided its updated composition of all fifteen (15) Standing Committees for the 2019-2021 tenure with Ghana maintaining all six slots out of the total 15 committees.

Despite missing out on the Executive Committee, the Ghana Football Association President, Mr Kurt Simeon Edwin Okraku, Vice President Mark Addo, Executive Council (EXCO) member Ransford Abbey, all maintained their respective positions on the Standing Committees since their appointments were confirmed in January this year.

The GFA boss Kurt Okraku was appointed by CAF in January as member of the Organizing Committee of the Africa Cup of Nations, his Vice Mark Addo was also appointed onto the Organizing Committee for U17, U20, U23 Africa Cup of Nations in January, same as another EXCO member Dr Ransford Abbey as member of the Committee for Legal Affairs and National Associations. All three recently appointed Ghanaians were not affected by the changes made by CAF in its updated list.

Moreover, Dr David Kofi Prince Pambo, who has been on the CAF Medical Committee since the year 2017, had his contract with CAF renewed for two more years in January this year, and maintained his position on the committee. Other Ghanaians who maintained their positions on the committees include Lawyer Thaddeus Sory (Appeal Board) and Ghana Premier League Committee Chairman, Alhaji Mahamadu Nuru Deen Jawula, member of the Organizing Committee for the Interclub Competitions and Club Licensing System.

Both Lawyer Thaddeus and Alhaji Jawula have been on the CAF Standing Committees for the past two years and had their tenure renewed in January this year. All six Ghanaian nationals remain unaffected in the newly revised list of CAF Standing Committees released on May 19, 2020.