You are here: HomeSports2018 09 17Article 685619

Sports News of Monday, 17 September 2018

Source: Angel TV

Normalisation Committee must factor salaries of players - Charles Taylor

Charles Taylor wants players to be paid well Charles Taylor wants players to be paid well

As the Normalisation Committee kick starts with its duties which basically includes the revising of GFA statutes to meet that of FIFA and CAF, a lot of people have made suggestions on some of the regulations that need to be considered. Among such is a former player of Hearts and Kotoko, Bismark Charles Kwaku Asampong Taylor.

Speaking in an interview with Esther Abankwa on Angel TV, Charles Taylor observed that the Normalisation Committee should factor the salaries of players by allocating a specified amount that clubs need to pay in all sectors, be it division one two and the premier league. According to him, local players are really suffering due to the minute salaries they take from their respective clubs.

"I would plead with the Normalisation Committee to allocate an amount that clubs should pay the players. At least, a player should be paid 1000 cedis, if the club cannot pay, then it should not be allowed to operate. Most players are given poor treatment, some usually go hungry, while others are even homeless because they are unable to rent a room due to their low income. The painful thing too is that, once a player protests, he is penalised, which is so sad, so I would plead, if we are reforming, then the Committee must consider salaries", he said.

Charles Taylor further noted that contracts of players must also be reviewed since most players. He observed that once players are well remunerated, it would help them to develop skilfully which will make the respective leagues attractive.

Dr Kofi Amoah, who was the CAF/FIFA liaison team head will lead a four-member Normalisation Committee to run Ghana Football for the next six months following the announcement at the GFA Secretariat on Thursday.

He will be deputized by former Airtel Chief Executive Officer Lucy Quist.

Other members on the committee are Lawyer Duah Adonten, a former Kotoko Board member with Naa Odofoley Nortey completing the list.