You are here: HomeSports2009 02 28Article 158425

Other Sports of Saturday, 28 February 2009

Source: GNA

Mfantsipim Senior High School emerge champions

Cape Coast, Feb. 28 GNA - Two records were broken and another one equaled in the Central Region Inter Schools and Colleges annual Regional Athletics Championship competition held at the Schools and Colleges Park at Adisadel, Cape Coast on Friday.

Mfantsipim School came first with 69 and half points followed by Jukwa Senior High School 60 points with St. Augustine's School taking the third position also with 60 points each, Obrachire Secondary Technical was fourth with 54 points while Agona Swedru SDA came fifth with 31 and half points.

Boa Amponsem School took the sixth position with 30 points, Kasoa Andam Secondary Technical was seventh with 24 points, Adisadel School eighth with 22 points, Assin Manso School ninth with 19 points with Cape Coast Technical Institute placing tenth with 18 and half points. In the Girls division, Apam Senior High School took the championship trophy with 117 points, Jukwa School placed second with 82 points, Holy Child was third with 76 and half points.

Obrachire School came fourth with 56 points while Wesley Girls High School came fifth with 43 and half points.

Agona Swedru SDA took the sixth position with 23 points, Christ the King Academy was seventh with 19 points, Boa Amponsem School placed eighth with 15 points, Assin Manso School was ninth with 14 points while Kasoa Insaaniya School came tenth with 12 points. Charity Mensah of Apam Senior High who was declared the best athlete in the girls division broke the 1,500 metre race record in 4 minutes 56.1seconds against the previous record of 4minutes 56.3 seconds and also shattered the 800 metre record in two minutes 21.2 seconds against the previous record of 2minute 21.7 seconds. Vivian Mills also from Apam Senior High equaled the 400 metres race in 59minute 9seconds.

Francis Baah of St. Augustine's School who was the best athlete in the Boys division came first in the 800 metres and 1,500 metres races respectively.