You are here: HomeSports2014 08 11Article 320673

Sports News of Monday, 11 August 2014


Kotoko dominates FA Cup Awards; scoop 5

Ghana Champions Asante Kotoko dominated the MTN FA Cup awards night held at the Banquet Hall of the State House in Accra on Saturday night.

The ceremony which was designed for outstanding players of the 122 teams that participated in the 2013/14 MTN FA Cup competition saw the League Champions scoop away five awards at the event attended by various bigwig and administrators in the football fraternity.

They took home the fair play award, Highest scoring team of the tournament, defender of the year and player of the tournament award which was all won by Abeiku Ainoonson and coach of the tournament won by their head coach Mas-Ud Didi Dramani.

Meanwhile Gold Stars youngster Elvis Opoku took home the top scorer and best goal award whiles Patrick Kpozo of Inter Allies also won the Discovery of the year award.

Winners of the various categories:

Fair Play Award - Asante Kotoko

Goalkeeper of the year - Theophilus Jackson (Fetteh Feyenoord)

Top Scorer - Elvis Opoku (Gold Stars)

Highest Scoring Club - Asante Kotoko

Defender of the year - Abeiku Ainooson (Kotoko)

Referee of the year - Seidu Bomison

Assistant Referee of the year - Ibrahim Adam

Most Promising referee - Maxwell Hason, Anafo Nathan, Prince Amoah

Goal of the year - Elvis Opoku (Gold Stars)

Discovery of the year - Patrick Kpozo (Inter Allies)

Coach of the year - Mas-Ud Didi Dramani (Kotoko)

Player of the year - Abeiku Ainooson (Kotoko)