You are here: HomeSports2019 05 23Article 748634

Sports News of Thursday, 23 May 2019


Host Egypt announce 25-man provisional squad

Egypt's 2019 AFCON Squad Egypt's 2019 AFCON Squad

Coach Javier Aguirre, head coach of the national team of Egypt, the “Pharoahs” has named a 25-man provisional squad for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON).

Below are the list of players invited, Goalkeepers: Ahmed El-Shenawi (Pyramids FC), Mohamed El-Shenawy (Ahly), Mahmoud Genish (Zamalek) and Mohamed Abou-Gabal (Smouha).

Defenders: Ahmed Elmohamady (Aston Villa), Ahmed Hegazi (West Bromwich Albion), Omar Gaber (Pyramids FC), Ali Ghazal (Feirense), Ayman Ahsraf (Ahly), Mahmoud Hamdy (Zamalek), Baher Elmohamady (Ismaily), Ahmed Ayman Mansour (Pyramids FC), Mahmoud Alaa (Zamalek) and Ahmed Aboul Fotouh (Smouha).

Midfielders: Walid Soliman (Ahly), Abdallah El-Said (Pyramids FC), Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal), Tarek Hamed (Zamalek), Mahmoud “Trezeguet” Hassan (Kasimpasa), Amr Warda (Atromitos) and Nabil Emad (Pyramids FC).

Forwards: Ahmed Aly (Arab Contractors), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Marwan Mohsen (Ahly), Ahmed “Kouka” Hassan (Olympiacos)

“We called up two extra players in case of injuries in the coming period. The final 23-man squad would be submitted on June 11,” Hany Ramzy Assistant Coach told the local media after the quad was released

The hosts would face Tanzania and Guinea in warm-up games before the 2019 AFCON against Zimbabwe, with DR Congo and Uganda being the other teams in Group A.

The biggest surprise in Aguirre’s selection was the return of Al Ahly playmaker Walid Soliman, who had announced his international retirement in November, while former Stoke City and Huddersfield Town winger Ramadan Sobhi was arguably the most prominent omission.

The Pharaohs are the record champions in AFCON history, having claimed the trophy seven times – with three of their triumphs coming as previous hosts.