You are here: HomeSports2018 01 02Article 613996

Sports News of Tuesday, 2 January 2018

Source: Ghana Guardian

Hearts' Thomas Abbey nominated for SWAG best footballer award

Click to read all about coronavirus →

Hearts of oak skipper Thomas Abbey is shortlisted among two others for the Sports Writers Association of Ghana(SWAG) Best Footballer of the Year for the Ghana Premier League.

The three-man shortlist consisting of Amos Frimpong of Kotoko and former Berekum Chelsea striker Stephen Sarfo, was revealed on Monday by the 49-year-old association.

The 24-year-old Hearts of Oak midfielder experienced a stellar 2016/17 campaign, playing 27 matches in the league and was part coach Maxwell Konadu's team that won the 2017 WAFU tournament.

Abbey, who is reported to be hankering a return to the Phobians after his failure to secure a foreign deal, was the club's top goal scorer with 13 goals and the League's 3rd.

The midfielder undoubtedly was Hearts of Oak’s best player, having won four man-of-the-match awards with 15 goals in all competitions.

He grabbed the Phobian's only consolation goal in their 3-1 trouncing in Tamale and was on the score sheet when the Phobaians walloped their rivals in the first leg of the anniversary cup in Accra by the same margin.

The 2017 WAFU gold medalist had a two-week trial with South African giants Ajax Cape Town last month but failed to land a deal and his reported return to the phobians will be a boost to Coach Frank Nutall.

According to SWAG, "the day for the awards will be announced in due course".

Below is the full list of nominees; 1. Footballer of the Year: Daniel Nii Adjei - (TP Mazembe, DRC Thomas Teye Partey- (Atletico Madrid, Spain) Christian Atsu - (Newcastle, England) Richard Boakye-Yiadom (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia)

2. Footballer of the Year (LOCAL) Thomas Abbey (Hearts of Oak) Amos Frimpong (Kotoko) Stephen Sarfo (B. Chelsea)

3. Female Footballer of the Year Priscilla Adubea (Ampem Darkoa Ladies) Priscilla Okyere (Ampem Darkoa Ladies) Ruth Appiah (LadyStrikers)

4. Professional Boxer of the Year Isaac Dogboe

Duke Micah (WBC Int. Bantamweight Champion)

5. National Team of the Year Local Black Stars Black Sticks (female Hockey Team) Golden Arms (Armwrestling)

6. Coach of the Year Carl Lokko (Coach of Richard Commey Yussif Abubakar (Aduana) Carl Pierce (Weightlifting)

7. Association President of the Year Mawuko Afadzinu (Table Tennis) Herbert Mensah (Rugby) Paul Achoe (Volleyball) Charles Osei Asibey (Armwrestling) Evans Yeboah (Badminton Fed) Frederick Otu Lartey (Taekwondo)

8. Most Promising Star of the Year Richmond Osafo (Weightlifting) David Abagna (Wa All Stars)

9.Female Club of the Year Ampem Darkoah Ladies

10. Male Club of the Year Aduana Stars (GPL) GRA Male Hockey team

11. Dedication and Valour George Bankole (Handball) Ofori Asare (Boxing)

12. Weightlifter of the Year Christian Amoah

13. Discovery of the Year David Akwei (Weightlifting) Isaac Nii Amugi (Armwrestling) Suzzy Dede Teye (Lady Strikers and Black Maidens)

14. Hockey Player of The Year Salia Nsalbini

15. Golfer of the Year Vincent Torgah

16. Badminton Player of the Year Emmanuel Yaw Donkor Grace Atipaka

17. Volleyball Player of The Year Richard Amanor

18. Special Awards Dr. Kojo Benjamin Taylor (Sanford) Alex Asante (GFA) Dr. K D Asante Dr. Paa Kwesi Ndoum Dr. Martin Engmann

19. Para-Athlete of the Year Charles Narh Teye Haruna Tahiru (Armwreslting)

20. Cyclist of the Year- Anthony Boafo Dankwa Boakye 21. Kickboxer of the Year - Alhassan Okine

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter