You are here: HomeSports2014 10 30Article 332754

Other Sports of Thursday, 30 October 2014

Source: Dorcas Aba Annan | GhanaWeb

Happy FM launches 2nd Ghana Sports Fans Awards

Click to read all about coronavirus →

Happy FM, the multiple award-winning sports station has launched the second edition of the annual Ghana Sports Fans Awards.

The Awards is aimed at giving sports fans and Ghanaians in general, the opportunity to vote for and celebrate deserving sports personalities and institutions.

Mr. Emmanuel Akrumah, General Manager of Happy Fm, explained “these awards represent the perfect opportunity for sports fans to recognize, vote for and celebrate the people who they feel have been the most outstanding sports icons in the year. Fans will have 100% voting power to choose personalities and sports disciplines enlisted in the various categories”.

Mr. Akrumah added that a technical team made up of ten (10) eminent personalities in the Sports industry will oversee the selection of sports personalities and organizations that deserve to be honoured.

Personalities who graced the launch in the studios of eTV Ghana included the Managing Director for Multichoice Ghana, Mr. Cecil Sunkwah-Mills, Mr. Nana Yaw Kesse, Media and Public Relations Manager at 1st Capital Plus Bank and the Greater Accra Regional Director of Sports, Mr. Kwame Ampofi Jnr.

At the event, categories and nominees for the year 2014 were officially announced.

The categories for this year include:

Sports Personality of the Year

  • Tony Bafoe

  • Braimah Kamoko (Bukom Banku)

  • Martha Bisa

Footballer of the Year (Foreign)

  • Kwadwo Asamoah

  • Dede Ayew

GPL Player of the Year

  • Owusu Bempah,

  • Augustine Ocran

  • Abeiku Ainooson

  • Asiedu Atobrah

Other categories are Athlete of the Year– (Track & Field)

  • Martha Bisa

  • Solomon Afful

  • Janet Amponsah

Boxer of the Year

  • Bukom Banku

  • Joshua Clottey

  • Richard Commey

Sports Coach of the year

  • Masud Didi Dramani

  • Isaac Lamptey

  • Ofori Asante

Sports Discipline of the year, Supporters Group of the year, Exemplary Leadership in Sports Development as well as the Unsung Hero in the year 2014 were among the categories announced at the event.

Voting for the 2014 Ghana Sports Fans Awards starts from Thursday 30th October to 23rd December.

Fans are encouraged to listen to Happy FM or visit the website for more details.

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter