You are here: HomeSports2019 11 03Article 795896

Sports News of Sunday, 3 November 2019


Great Olympics will no longer go to court - Naa Odofoley

A member of the Ghana Football Association (GFA) Normalisation Committee (NC), Lawyer Naa Odofoley Nortey, has disclosed that Accra Great Olympics will henceforth desist from dragging the Ghana FA to court because the club will do its utmost best to win points on the pitch and not in the boardroom.

This was after the GFA at its last Congress decided to expand the Ghana Premier League from 16 to 18 teams in order to include Great Olympics and King Faisal, both of whom had a legal tussle with the FA.

Last year the Wonder Club placed two court injunctions on the start of the 2017/18 campaign claiming the Disciplinary Committee (DC) of the GFA failed to give them a fair hearing in their protest filed against Bechem United after fielding an unqualified player.

Great Olympics wanted to be awarded a boardroom 3 points but the DC rejected citing that they filed their case 7 months after instead of the usual 3 days ultimatum. Their petition was also thrown out because there is nothing like a petition in the federation's laws in the quest for points.

However speaking to Naa Odofoley who appeared exclusively on Ghanaweb’s Sports Check, she revealed that the club has learnt their lessons and henceforth they will earn their three points of the pitch and focus on their campaign in the Ghanaian topflight league.

“Actually we are in Premier and we are a very serious topflight club. We will make sure we will earn all our three points on the field of play and not outside the field of play,” the Lawyer who is an astute fan of the club joyfully said.

The Normalization Committee at the GFA Elective Congress added Great Olympics and King Faisal to the 2019/2020 Ghana Premier League season after gaining approval from delegates 64 of the 120 delegates. The two clubs had been battling the GFA for some acts of injustice which resulted in their relegation.

The move means the new league season will have 18 teams instead of the standard 16 which will also see 5 clubs relegated at the end of the season for the league to return to its normal state after.

Watch Video below

Join our Newsletter