You are here: HomeSports2015 09 29Article 384733

Sports News of Tuesday, 29 September 2015


GFA Ex.Co Elections: Fred Crentsil suffers defeat

Fred Crentsil Fred Crentsil

Ghana FA Vice President Fred Crentsil has lost his seat on the Executive Committee as Kurt Okraku, Wilfred Osei, Kweku Eyiah and J.F Mensah get elected to represent the second tier league on the powerful 22-member board.

In a shocking turn of events, rising football administrator Kurt Okraku secured a landslide thirty five (35) votes with J.F Mensah and Wilfred Osei following with twenty seven (27) votes apiece.

Kweku Ayiah secured twenty five (25) votes to pick the final available Division One slot – beating GFA vice President Fred Crentsil who secured two votes less.

Fred Crentsil, the incumbent Vice President of the GFA is the second major casualty in the polls held on Tuesday to elect new members to serve on the Executive Committee.

AshantiGold Chief Executive Officer Kudjo Fianoo had suffered a similar fate earlier as he failed to join the six representatives elected from the premier Division to serve on the board.

Crentsil appears to have suffered from a change in his endorsing club as he was heading into the elections without the backing of his former club Hearts of Oak – where he served as a Chief Executive Officer.

While the likes of Wilfred Osei and Kweku Eyiah retained their position on the Ex.Co with their re-election, enterprising administrator Kurt Okraku and veteran J.F Mensah emerge as the new faces.

Okraku’s Dreams FC will be playing in the Premier League next season following their success in the second tier division.

There were also no places for veteran football administrator Oloboi Commodore and Jones Abu Alhassan while ambitious Ebo Kwabena Appiah polled a paltry one vote.

Journalist Otuo Acheampong Barima Boada garnered 13 votes, far cry of the votes required to secure a seat on the committee.

Ronald Joojo Duncan (Proud United) secured only two votes after a exhilarating contest held at the Ghana FA secretariat.


1. Kweku Abaka Eyiah (Tarkwa United) 25

2. Wilfred Kwaku Osei (Tema Youth) 27

3. John Frederick Mensah (Ebusua Dwarfs) 27

4. Fred Crentsil (Techiman City) 23

5. Ronald Joojo Duncan (Proud United) 2

6. Otuo Acheampong Barima Boadaa (Asokwa Deportivo) 13

7. Oloboi Commodore (Sporting Mirren) 12

8. Kurt E.S. Okraku (Dreams FC) 35

9. Ebo Kobina Appiah (KFC Samosa) 1

10. Jones Abu Alhassan (RTU) 4