You are here: HomeSports2021 02 24Article 1188424

Sports News of Wednesday, 24 February 2021


Eight players excluded from Black Stars squad

Hearts of Oak defender Mohammed Alhassan has been excluded from the team Hearts of Oak defender Mohammed Alhassan has been excluded from the team

Ghana coach CK Akonnor has excluded eight players from his squad as the team move to camp to continue with preparation for next month’s Africa Cup of Nations double header qualifiers against South Africa and São Tomé and Principe on Thursday.

Coach C. K. Akonnor, last week, began preparation with 26 home based players despite handing call ups to 32 players for the final two games scheduled for March 24 and 28 respectively.

Akonnor in phase one of the training programme could not get full house due to Asante Kotoko’s participation in the CAF Confederations Cup. Six players of Kotoko were excused from the team.

As the team resumes camping on Thursday, the coach has trimmed the squad.

Hearts of Oak defender Mohammed Alhassan has been excluded from the team.

Other players axed from the squad are, Bawa Lord Martey (Elmina Sharks), George Asamoah (Ebusua Dwarfs), Ben Acquah (Ebusua Dwarfs), Michael Agbekornu (Dreams FC), Evans Etti (Accra Lions FC), Andy Kumi Francis (Unistar Academy), and Welbeck Takyi (Tano Bofoakwa).

The technical team has decided to hand invitation to China based duo Mubarak Wakasso and Emmanuel Boateng. The two players are currently on holidays in Ghana and have been called up to join the team to fine tune ahead of the two games.

The public is hereby informed that due to the current COVID-19 protocols, the training sessions will be done behind closed doors but the GFA media team will provide more pictures and videos to the media and the public on daily basis.

The Communications team will later announce dates for media engagement with the technical team and some of the players.

The underlisted players are hereby informed to report at the M-Plaza Hotel in Accra at 10am on Thursday, February 25, 2021.

Goalkeepers: Joseph Addo (Aduana Stars), Razak Abalorah (Asante Kotoko), Eric Ofori Antwi (Medeama SC)

Defenders: Ganiyu Ismail (Asante Kotoko), Yusif Mubarik (Asante Kotoko), Kwadwo Amoako (AshantiGold SC), Konadu Yiadom (WAFA), Ibrahim Moro (Asante Kotoko), Haruna Jamal Deen (Great Olympics), Christopher Nettey (Asante Kotoko), Dennis Korsah (Ebusua Dwarfs), Joseph Agyei (Legon Cities)

Midfielders: Gladson Awako (Great Olympics), Justice Blay (Medeama SC), Michel Otou (Great Olympics), Yaw Annor (AshantiGold SC), Rashid Nortey (Medeama SC), Maxwell Abbey (Great Olympics), Augustine Boakye (WAFA), Salifu Moro (Bechem United), Mubarak Wakaso (Jiangsu Suning), Joseph Esso (Dreams FC)

Forwards: Emmanuel Boateng (Dalian Pro), Kwame Peprah (King Faisal), Kwame Opoku (Asante Kotoko), Diawusie Taylor (Karela United)