You are here: HomeSports2015 10 14Article 387589

Other Sports of Wednesday, 14 October 2015

Source: GNA

Donkorkrom Court Winners win E/R volleyball league

Donkorkrom Court Winners Donkorkrom Court Winners

Donkorkrom Court Winners came from a set down to beat Okere United Way of Adukrom by three sets to one to win this years Eastern Regional Volleyball league.

Okere United Way won the first set by 26 to 24, whiles Court Winners came back to win the second set by 25 to 16 and won the third and fourth sets, 24 to 19 and 26 to 23 respectively.

Koforidua Unity Club won the third place technically because, their opponents Super Rangers from Akim Swedru failed to show up.

Court winners for their prize won a trophy donated by Dr Kwame Taylor, a philanthropist, undisclosed cash prize, volleyball and products from Boafo Herbal Center.

The second placed team, Okere United Way had an undisclosed cash amount, a volley ball and products from Boafo Herbal Center.

Unity, which came third, had an undisclosed cash prize, a volley ball and products of Boafo Herbal Center.

Mr Paul Atchoe, President of the Ghana Volleyball Association said the standard of play from the teams and the young talents in the region are very competitive and commended the commitment shown by the players throughout the league.

He encouraged the organizers, Regional Volleyball Association and all the participating teams and urged them to put up measures to ensure another successful league season next year.

Mr Iddrisu Bawah, National Volleyball Team Manager, advised the losers to go back and prepare adequately for the next competition and said, they must not be let down by their defeat and also encouraged the winners to continue to work hard.

The best behaved team went to Youngsters from Kpong, whiles, the best coach was won jointly by, Okyere Daniel of Okere United and Ernest Asihene of Unity.

Other award winners were, best spiker, Tereq Agama of Court Winners, best setter going to Abbey Michael of Unity and the Most Valuable player (MVP) went to Dennis Annor of Okere United.