You are here: HomeSports2009 01 06Article 155810

Soccer News of Tuesday, 6 January 2009

Source: GNA

Division One League to commence Feb. 1

Accra, Jan. 6, GNA - The Division One League (DOL) will kick-start on Sunday, February 1 at the various approved centres barring any last minute hitches.

The commencement date for the second-tier of Ghana football was reached upon at the Extra-Ordinary Congress of the Ghana Football Association (GFA) held on Tuesday, January 6. The League would however see three clubs joining the elite division next season upon its completion which will then have 52 clubs instead of the traditional 48 clubs.

This follows the decision of Congress, the supreme and legislative organ of the GFA to approve 10 clubs each for Zones 3A and 3B. The decision emanated from a proposal submitted by Nana Okufuruboa Budu, Chairman of Suhum Maxbees and supported by the 27 Clubs after a "mass" relegation that hit Zone 3 made up of clubs from Greater Accra, Eastern and Volta Regions.

Three clubs each were relegated from two zones, a feat which some of the affected clubs described as unsporting. Kwame Ntow Fianko, Chairman of the DOL argued that the "mass" relegation was justifiable and was affected by the automatic return of four banned clubs Nania FC, Great Mariners, Okwawu United and Mighty Jets who have finished serving their year's ban.

Another factor, he said was the fact that the three relegated Clubs from the Premier League made up of Tema Real Sportive, Accra Great Olympics and Zaytuna United were geographically from the same zone. GFA President, Kwesi Nyantakyi emphasized on the need for an Extra-Ordinary Congress to tackle the issue which will see only the bottom placed clubs in Zones 3A and 3B being relegated. The new development is however subject to amendment of the special article of DOL Regulations which borders on the composition of the league.

Congress unanimously upheld that decision and also for the commencement of the league after seven days. By the latest development, Kadjebi United and Kade Hotspurs will be relegated from Zone 3A and 3B respectively. This means that Fairpoint, King Solomon, Soccer Learners, Nania FC, Mighty Jets, Pure Joy FC, Mariners, Seven United, Midtjyland FC and the yet-to-be declared Volta Regional Second Division champions will constitute Zone 3A whilst Royal Knights, All Stars, Power FC, Bright Future, Great Olympics, Real Sportive, Zaytuna United, Okwawu United, Maxbees and Home Stars make up Zone 3B.