You are here: HomeSports2015 11 14Article 393966

Sports News of Saturday, 14 November 2015


Dede plus 4 for BBC Africa top award

Dede for top award Dede for top award

Ghana’s Andre Dede Ayew is among five candidates shortlisted for the 2015 BBC African Footballer of the Year. This was revealed during a special live launch broadcast in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Algeria's Yacine Brahimi, the 2014 winner, is on the shortlist along with Gabon's Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Senegal's Sadio Mane and Yaya Toure of Ivory Coast.

The winner will be announced on Friday, 11 December during a special live broadcast.

Three of this year's shortlist, which was voted for by journalists from 46 African countries, have previously won the BBC award - Ayew in 2011, Toure in 2013 and Brahimi.

The winner will be decided by African football fans, who have until 18:00 GMT on 30 November to vote for their choice.

Aubameyang makes the shortlist for the third year running, while this is Mane’s first.