You are here: HomeSports2013 09 18Article 286237

Sports News of Wednesday, 18 September 2013


CHAN 2014 Draw: Ghana face Libya

The 2014 African Nations Championship draw took place on Wednesday at the Caf headquarters in Cairo, Egypt, with the 16 qualified teams spread into four groups of four teams each.

The 16 teams were divided into four pots ahead of the draw, as shown below:

Pot 1: South Africa, DR Congo, Ghana, Zimbabwe.

Pot 2: Gabon, Mali, Libya, Uganda.

Pot 3: Burkina Faso, Burundi, Ethiopia, Nigeria

Pot 4: Congo, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambique.

Host team South Africa, who emerged in Group A, will be facing newcomers Nigeria, alongside Mozambique and Mali, seen already as one of the toughest of the four groups.

There will be interesting clashes also in Group B, composed of Zimbabwe, Uganda, Burkina Faso and Morocco.

Ghana were pitted against Libya, Congo and Ethiopia in Group C while 2009 winners DR Congo will face neighbours Gabon, Burundi and Mauritania, who are appearing for the first time in a continental competition.

Group A: South Africa, Mozambique, Nigeria, Mali (host city: Cape Town)

Group B: Zimbabwe, Uganda, Burkina Faso, Morocco (host city: Cape Town)

Group C: Ghana, Libya, Ethiopia, Congo (host city: Mangung)

Group D: RD Congo, Gabon, Burundi, Mauritania (host city: Polokwane)

The 2014 African Nations Championship will take place from January 11 to February 1. Defending champions Tunisia did not qualify.

South Africa will play the opening match against Zimbabwe.