You are here: HomeSports2018 01 29Article 621539

Soccer News of Monday, 29 January 2018


Bright Adjei's lone goal hands Aduana Stars Super Cup victory over Kotoko

Bright Agye Bright Agye

Ghana Premier League champions Aduana Stars were 1-0 victors over FA Cup holders Asante Kotoko SC on Sunday at the Len Clay Stadium to clinch the 2018 Ghana Super Cup.

Aduana Stars made early incursions in the game with an 8th-minute opportunity but Zakaria Mumuni's shot across the face of goal couldn't be connected by Derrick Sasraku.

The Fire Boys came close again to get the opener with a header from Bright Agyei going very wide in the 29th minute.

A minute on, Derrick Sasraku with a brilliant effort forced goalkeeper Felix Annan to make a spectacular save to deny Aduana Stars from going ahead.

Asante Kotoko SC had their first goal attempt in the 36th minute with Emmanuel Gyamfi's lovely run followed a short cross missed Sadick Adams.

Few seconds later, Felix Annan made another wonderful save to deny Bright Agyei the match opener.

Asante Kotoko SC nearly broke the deadlock on the stroke of halftime but an effort from the edge of the box by Ivorian import Mohammed Syllabus missed the goalposts by inches.

The Brong Ahafo based side finally opened the scoring in the 64th minute after Bright Agyei's shot beat Felix Annan following an excellent work by Derrick Sasraku.

Asante Kotoko SC goalie Felix Annan blocked Aduana Stars from getting a second goal with a stupendous save. A rebound from Derrick Sasraku went wide.

Aduana Stars came close to registering the second of the fixture but Elvis Opoku's long drive effort hit the woodwork.

The Fire Boys goalkeeper Joseph Addo denied Asante Kotoko SC equalizer by making a sumptuous save to stop Kwame Boahene's long-distance attempt.

Aduana Stars continued their dominance in the 78th minute when Bright Agyei hit the framework following an outstanding effort to bypass centre back Awudu Nafiu.

Four minutes to end proceedings, Sadick Adams sent wide a free-kick from the edge of the box.

Aduana Stars become the first club from the Brong Ahafo region to win the coveted trophy.