Warning: include(../../GhanaHomePage/NewsArchive/news_utils.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /data/www/africaweb/mobile/wap/article.engine.php on line 3

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../../GhanaHomePage/NewsArchive/news_utils.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/share/php') in /data/www/africaweb/mobile/wap/article.engine.php on line 3
Feyenoord Fetteh U-17 Win In Holland

Feyenoord Fetteh U-17 Win In Holland

The Under-17 side of Ghana?s Feyenoord Fetteh Academy have been crowned champions of the Betuwe Tournament after beating the Under-17 side of Celtic 1-0 in this year?s tournament held in Holland last week.

This is the second time that Feyenoord Fetteh have won the tournament, one of the top events for academies in Europe. The Ghanaians won their first title in 2002 at the same venue.The team which went on a three-week training tour in Holland, also returned home last Monday with the Most Valuable Player and Top Scorer awards won by Takiyu Deem and Yaw Frimpong respectively.

The Ghanaians were the only African side in the competition, which attracted seven other teams from Europe, including Feyenoord Rotterdam, Ajax, PSV Eindhoven and Bayer Leverkusen.

On the way to reclaiming the trophy which they lost to Feyenoord Rotterdam last year, the Ghanaians beat RKTVC 2-0, Racing Club Genk 3-1, Willem II 3-2 well as Bayer Leverkusen 3 ? 0 to finish on top of their Group B. Celtic on the otherhand, won all their matches played by beating Ajax 4-0, 2-0 against SC Heerenveen, 2-1 against NEC Nijmegen and drew FC Utrecht-Celtic FC 2-2 and 1-1 with PSV.

Feyenoord Rotterdam finished fourth after losing 1-3 to PSV while FC Willem II, Utrecht finished fifth and sixth respectively with 2-1 result in their match. Welcoming the team back home last Monday, the technical head of the Feyenoord Fetteh said he was personally happy with the performance of the boys as it reflected the efforts being put in the development programme of the academy.

He commended them for maintaining the same level of discipline and performance exhibited by their predecessors, which has endeared them to the hearts of their Dutch fans.Coaches Jan Gooskens and Nii Adu Sackey led the team to the competition.

Source: GHP
Sport News of 2004-08-25
News Categories
Site Menu