You are here: HomeSportsSoccer2019 01 14Article 715170

Sports News of Monday, 14 January 2019


Prize monies for 2018/2019 CAF Champions League announced

The CAF Champions League title championship comes with the special honor of representing the continent at the prestigious FIFA Club World, which means an exciting opportunity to lock horns with the UEFA Champions League holders, at the same time, the financial reward is a rather handsome sum of money.

2016 saw CAF announce a prize money increase for its premier club competition, with a group stage qualification guaranteeing US$ 550,000 (about 56 million Ksh).

Here are the full fees via CAF Online:

Champions: US$ 2.5 million

Runners-up: US$ 1.25 million

Semi-finalists: US$ 800,000

Quarter-finalists: US$ 650,000

3rd in group stage: US$ 550,000

4th in group stage: US$ 550,000
This season’s title favourites are the usual suspects of Al Ahly, TP Mazembe and defending champions Esperance.