You are here: HomeSportsSoccer2019 02 21Article 725153

Sports News of Thursday, 21 February 2019


CAF Confed Cup: All you need to know about Kotoko’s opponent Nkana FC

Kumasi Asante Kotoko will face Zambian giants Nkana FC in their third Group C tie in the CAF Confederation Cup game on Sunday, February 24 at the Nkana Stadium in Kitwe.

The other Group C match between Al Hilal of Sudan and ZESCO United will also be played at the Levy Mwanawasa Stadium in Kitwe on the same day.

The four clubs are tied on three points each making it an open group with a winner on Sunday taking huge leap to the top.

Ahead of the clashes, Graphic Sports Online puts together an interesting piece which touches on the history, achievements, coaches and statistics of Nkana FC in continental competitions. Read on.


Nkana FC, famously known as Nkana Red Devils, is a Zambian football club based in Kitwe that plays in the MTN/FAZ Super Division and is one of the country's most popular teams. It is Zambia's most successful league club with 12 titles, and second overall, winning 43 trophies, 6 behind Mufulira Wanderers.

Nkana had a long history of success during the 1980s and early 1990s, winning nine league titles from 1982. Coached by Moses Simwala, a number of prominent players ran out for Nkana during this time frame.

Nkana were demoted from the top flight for the first time in their history in 2004, and their period in the second division was plagued by financial problems.However, Nkana returned to the top flight after winning the 2007 Division One North title.


In terms of achievement, Nkana have won the Zambia Premier League title twelve times in 1982, 1983, 1985, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1993, 1999, 2001 and 2013.

The club has also won the Zambia Cup six times, Zambia Challenge Cup seven times and the Zambia Charity Shield 11 times.

At the continental level, the Red Devils have participated in various CAF competitions since 2000, including the CAF Champions League, CAF Cup Winners’ Cup and Africa Cup of Champions Cup but they have never won a trophy despite making it to the finals a few times.

In 1990, they were runners-up in the Africa Cup of Champions making them the only Zambian team to ever reach the finals.

In 2000 when they made their first appearance at the CAF Champions League, Nkana were eliminated during the second round of the competition just as in 2002 and 2014.

In the CAF Cup Winners’ Cup, they finished as quarter finalists in 1998 and they were eliminated in the second round of the competition in 2001.


Since its establishment, Nkana FC have worked with two foreign coaches – Congolese Guston Mutobo and English football manager Jeff Butler with the rest being Zambians.

The Zambian coaches are Jericho Shinde, Moses Simwala (1980–1993), Patrick Phiri (1997–2002), Ben Bamfuchile, Kenneth Malitoli (2007), late Masauso Mwale (2013–2014) and currently Beston Chambeshi who was reappointed in June 2017 and he has handled the team till date.


Matches between Nkana Fc and Power Dynamos FC are the biggest derby in Zambia also known as the Kopala Derby.


Interestingly, Nkana FC have an unbeaten record in continental competition at home as they are yet to lose a single game at the Nkana Stadium since 1976 to date. Below are their statistics:

Nkana 4-0 Bata Bullets

Nkana 1-1 Shooting Stars

Nkana 2-2 Mbabane Highlanders

Nkana 0-0 Pan African

Nkana 4-0 Nakivubo Villa

Nkana 0-0 Al Ahly (1983 CAF Champions Cup) Nkana 5-0 LPF Maseru

Nkana 3-0 Printing Agency

Nkana 1-1 Zamalek (1984 CAF Champions Cup) Nkana 4-1 AS Sotema

Nkana 0-0 Brewery Jimma

Nkana 2-0 Accra Hearts of Oak

Nkana 1-1 Africa Sports

Nkana 1-1 Petro Atletico

Nkana 1-0 Zamalek (1987 CAF Champions Cup) Nkana 4-1 Botswana Defence Force (Champions Cup)

Nkana 5-1 Fire Brigade

Nkana 2-1 Zimbabwe Saints

Nkana 1-0 MP Oran (1989 CAF Champions Cup) Nkana 3-1 Express FC

Nkana 5-1 Arsenal (1990 CAF Champions Cup) Nkana 2-1 Racing Bafoussam

Nkana 1-0 Iwuanyanwu National

(Cup) Nkana 6-0 ASF Fianarantsoa

Nkana 4-1 Sunrise Flacq United

(Cup) Nkana 1-0 Union Douala

Nkana 4-1 Club Africaine

Nkana 7-1 Mbabane Highlanders

Nkana 2-0 Kampala City Council

Nkana 2-1 Wydad Casablanca

Nkana 1-0 AFC Leopards

Nkana 0-0 Sunrise Flacq United

Nkana 1-0 Asante Kotoko

Nkana 2-0 Costa Do Sol

Nkana 4-1 Simba (1994 CAF Champions Cup) Nkana 1-0 Zamalek (1994 CAF Champions Cup) Nkana 1-0 Rwanda FC

Nkana 2-1 Mamelodi Sundowns

Nkana 1-1 Africa Sports

Nkana 2-2 Royal Leopards

Nkana 1-0 SC Sfaxien

Nkana 3-0 US Stade Tamponnaise

Champions League) Nkana 1-1 Mamelodi Sundowns

(League) Nkana 3-0 Military Police

Nkana 2-2 Zamalek (2001 CAF Cup Winners) Nkana 4-0 Simba (2002 Caf Champions League) Nkana 1-1 Zamalek (2002 CAF Champions League) Nkana 5-2 Mbabane Swallows

Nkana 0-0 Zamalek (2014 CAF Champions League) Nkana 0-0 CA Bizertin

Nkana 1-1 Sewe Sport

Nkana 4-3 Etoile Du Sahel

Nkana 1-0 Al Ahly (2014 CAF Confederations Cup) Nkana 1-0 CR Bélouizdad

Nkana 1-0 UD Songo (2019 CAF Champions League) Nkana 2-1 Simba SC (2019 Caf Champions League) Nkana 3-0 San Pedro (2019 CAF Confederations Cup) Nkana 2-1 Al Hilal (2019 CAF Confederations Cup)