You are here: HomeNewsRegions2019 02 13Article 723051

General News of Wednesday, 13 February 2019


Techiman declared capital of Bono East Region

President Nana Akufo-Addo has declared Techiman as the capital of the newly created Bono East Region.

Akufo-Addo made the announcement at an event held at the Jubilee House on Wednesday where he presented the Constitutional Instrument to back the creation of the new region.

The Brong Ahafo Regional Minister, Evans Opoku-Bobie has been directed to be the caretaker Minister of the region until a substantive minister is appointed.

Government has already allocated GHc20 million for each of the six new regions being created to allow them to take off smoothly.

The president presented the Constitutional Instrument for the creation of the Savannah and North East Regions on Tuesday.

President Akufo-Addo named Damango as the capital of the Savannah Region while Nalerigu was named as the capital of the North East Region.