You are here: HomeNewsRegions2019 02 12Article 722842

General News of Tuesday, 12 February 2019


Savannah Region will benefit from her natural resource deposits – Akufo-Addo

President of the Republic, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo has assured the chiefs, leaders and people of the newly created Savannah Region that his administration will ensure that the region benefits from the natural resource deposits of their land under his watch as President of the Republic.

In his address to herald the signing and presentation of Constitutional Instrument (CI) 115, the instrument of attestation, at the Forecourt of the Jubilee House, President Akufo Addo noted that, “Anyone who visits the northern region, especially the newly created Savannah Region, will attest to the fact that it is typified by poor road networks, insufficient health, educational and telecommunication facilities, poor sanitation and water supply system, amongst others. You will not be far from wrong if you describe the Savannah region as the least developed part of the Northern region.” The President added that, “The irony in all of this is that the Savannah region is blessed with an abundance of natural resources. My party, the New Patriotic Party and I, we are determined to do something about it.”

Motivating Factors for the Creation of New Regions

The President further observed that throughout the course of his life in politics, he has toured many parts of the country as many times as any other politician and it has become evidently clear to him that one of the fundamental demands of the people of Ghana is to live in a thriving economy which provides opportunities for all. This demand by the people of Ghana he said, is the motivation behind the creation of six additional regions in order to deepen the decentralisation process and even the distribution of the country’s resources.

Overlord of the Gonja Kingdom

In a speech read on his behalf by Tulewewura R. S. Issahaka, the Overlord of the Gonja Kingdom, Yagbonwura Tuntumba Boresa Jakpa Sulemana, said the people of the Savannah Region are eternally grateful to the President for the bold and courageous decision to trigger Article 5 of the 1992 Constitution of the Republic for the first time under the 4th Republic that has resulted in the creation of the Savannah Region. He pledged that he and his subjects will support all the efforts of government to bring development to the Savannah Region.

Regional Capital and Minister

In his address, President Akufo Addo noted that he has appointed the Northern Regional Minister, Salifu Sa-eed, to act as Caretaker Minister for the region until he appoints a substantive Regional Minister for the North East Region. Additionally, President Akufo Addo announced that Damongo has been chosen as the regional capital for the Savannah Region.

The Processes Leading to Creation of New Regions

In fulfillment of the provisions of the Constitution, President Akufo Addo on the 26th of June, 2017, referred petitions from the Western, Volta, Bring Asafo and Northern Regions to the Council of State for their advice. On the 15th of August, 2017, the Council of State, after a thorough examination of the matter, unanimously recommended to the President the need for the creation of and the substantial demand for the creation of new regions. The Council of State advised the President to proceed with the processes involving the creation of new regions.

On Thursday, 19th of October, 2017, by Constitutional Instrument number 105, gazetted on Thursday, 12th of October, 2017, the President appointed a 9-member Commission of Enquiry chaired by retired Supreme Court Judge, Justice S.A. Brobbery. On the 27th of June, 2018, the Commission of Enquiry presented its report to the President recommending the creation of six additional regions to the existing ten (10).

President Akufo Addo subsequently referred the decision of the Commission of Enquiry to the Electoral Commission (EC) for it to begin the processes for the referendum to be held in the recommended places. On the 27th of December, 2018, the EC conducted same with all the six regions voting “yes” for the creation of the new regions.