You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2016 08 19Article 463750

Government borrowed to invest - Mahama

Read Comments Comments (82)

• fear woman 7 years ago

THIS FOOL DONT GET IT WE NEED JOBS NOT ROAD

• MR OBJECTIVE 7 years ago

JDM HAD PUT GHANA ON SALES pub.§§§ GHANA IS FOR SALE,under JDM.

• YAO 7 years ago

Ghana has seen a lot of change under the Mahama led administration. The oil and gas sector currently provides direct employment for 7,545 Ghanaians, thanks to J.M.

• Akonoba 7 years ago

Return the Ford vehicle to the Burkinabe contractor. Where are the roads. The chiefs are asking for the roads not NPP

• aikins 7 years ago

Don't take Ghanaians for fools okay, all the projects you have build will not cost us more than 40 billion ghc so where is the remaining 60 billion ? Armed robber president.

Author:- facts .....
    The saddest thing in the history of ghana will be the rejection of Nana Addo to retain Mahama. It is just worse than saying America must give Donald trump a massive win over Clinton. That will be green ...

• Mahmoud 7 years ago

Incompetent Mahama and the NDC borrowed to share. Ghanaians are really suffering.

• Jay 7 years ago

He will be leaving office very soon bro. There ain't no toaso for him. If the country keeps going this direction we will probably die before before his third term ends!!!

• $aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 7 years ago

Kwasia, u have borrowed more in 4yrs than all previous govts combined. We're are the investments?

• Larbi-Teshie 7 years ago

Rome was not built in a year.No one person can build Ghana in four years. So you think of your people when borrowing.You don't borrow to burden your people. That is bad leadership.

• King Bright 7 years ago

The most deadly disease in Ghana now is CLS, otherwise known as CREATE, LOOT, and SHARE. Someone tell Maama, he borrowed to CLS. Boyz abre.

• YAO 7 years ago

Mahama has evenly distributed state resources to all sectors of the economy and regions ensuring that each gets its fair share of the national cake.The President recently cut sod to commission 18km Fume-Dzolokpuita road, the ...

• junior 7 years ago

HE HAS BORROWED HUGE TO GIVE SOME TO HIMSELF , CRONIES , BRIBES , CARS , AND SOME TO WOMEN WHO ARE POPING UP TO PRAISE HIS FOOLISHNESS

• Me to You 7 years ago

hahahahahha. I can only laugh to this comment. boys funny paaa

• John 7 years ago

If this is how we govern a country every Ghanaian can be a President,how do you borrow so much and use little on over-inflated projects prices?

• YAO 7 years ago

Prices of these projected have not been inflated. there is evidence that proves that Mahama has heavily invested in infrastructural facilities. The new 465,560 square foot Greater Accra Ridge Regional hospital initiated by J. ...

• junior 7 years ago

we cannot wait to see this man flushed out .

• YAO 7 years ago

President Mahama is already committed to the agenda of creating jobs. Under The Ghana Free Zones Board, close to 70 large factories have been set up within 3 years since President John Manama became President. There is a larg ...

• junior 7 years ago

CREATING JOBBS WHERE????? TO WOMEN SURELY

• mike 7 years ago

You are a very big fool to call your president a fool.have you ever held a class prefect position before. Idiot

• Kanawu 7 years ago

Liar, liar, liar.... you borrow to loot. It's BORROW, INFLATE, CREATE, LOOT, SHARE AND COVERUP. Why do you've to borrow to bankrupt the nation?

• YAO 7 years ago

The nation is not bankrupt, J.M has only invested in infrastructure that is badly needed by Ghana. he will continue to transform this country.2,000 jobs have been created under the national board for small scale industries un ...

• BENTA 7 years ago

YOU borrowed about $35billion in eight years. You have constructed projects worth approx. $6 billion even with your inflated project pricing. Where is the $29billion?

• # VOTE MAHAMA OUT ! 7 years ago

Ghana is a Potential Beautiful Paradise even though Mahama have tried very hard to Turn Ghana into a Special
    Place in Hell.

• YAO 7 years ago

Hell is what Ghana will become when Akufo-Addo becomes President. Confusion will rock this country because he is a war monger.Mahama is restoring peace and Changing Lives. Under Mahama’s leadership, 23,000 youth were employ ...

On Elections Day, Ghanaians should come out and vote to baptize Mahama with Fire and Drive him Out of Office.!

• YAO 7 years ago

On elections day Ghanaians will reject Nana Addo and vote massively for JM because he is transforming Ghana. 500 jobs have been created by GRATIS foundation through the production and sale of over 10,000 agricultural implemen ...

• KWASHIE ADJAH 7 years ago

US$40 BILLIONS BORROWED AND NOTHING TO SHOW FOR IT, ONLY CONTRACTS WHICH ARE INFLATED IN COSTS, THE EXCESS SUMS OF MONEY IN MILLIONS OF DOLLARS SIPHONED INTO NDC MEMBERS' SWISS, MAURITIUS AND CAYMAN ISLAND OFFSHORE BANK ACCOU ...

Mahama must know that throwing Urine in the Air Does Not Make Rainfall.VOTE to Cast Mahama OUT from Office and Give Ghana a Clean Break !.

• YAO 7 years ago

NPP shall forever spew lies about the NDC but discerning Ghanaians will continue to throw their weight behind President Mahama for his exemplary leadership roles.
    The 8.3 million business processing outsourcing centre is p ...

How much did you invested and how much did you pocketed.?

This Counterfeit President Mahama and the Nigerian Election Thief Charlotte Osei will be exposed on elections Day!.
    A Mass Number of Ghanaians will VOTE to Cast Mahama OUT from Office!.

• YAO 7 years ago

Ghanaians shall throw their support behind the man JM who is transforming Ghana and Changing Lives.
    The 600rack space national data centre launched by President Mahama will facilitate the efficient delivery of government s ...

It is No Longer a Luxury to Allow Counterfeit President Mahama to Stay in Office.! Mahama has Condemned Ghanaians and Put Ghana on a Path to Hell.Mahama, Start Writing your Hand-Over notes,You are a Shameful Disgrace to Ghana ...

• YAO 7 years ago

Nana Addo should start writing his concessions speech because its over for him. Mahama shall eventually retire him. The ongoing construction of 200 community day shs across the country will provide space for the admission of ...

• KK 7 years ago

VOTE THIS CRIMINAL OUT BECAUSE HE HAS CREATED HUGE DEBT STOCK FOR THE COUNTRY FOR LOOTING THE COFERS OF THE NATION. HE IS A DISGRACE TO THE JUNE 4TH 1979 REVOLUTION. NOW IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE BLOOD OF GEN.ACHAMPONG AND THE O ...

• ZONGO BOY 7 years ago

If you borrow money and invest, there should be some returns. The returns should be such that it can pay back the borrowed money. How are we going to pay for these borrowed monies. Somebody has to pay for it sooner or late ...

• KK 7 years ago

NOW IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE BLOOD OF GEN. ACHAMPONG AND THE OTHERS ARE INNOCENT. WOYOME AND OTHERS ARE FREEMEN WHILE THE OIL DESCOVERY HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINAL AND THAT HAS CONTRIBUTED TO BAD ECONOMY.

Mahama is NOT there as a carrier of the Country Progress. Mahama the Lucifer of Corruption has Put Ghana on a Path to Hell.Kiss Good bye to the Fraud,con-Man ,Fake,Thief and a Counterfeit President!.

• YAO 7 years ago

Nana is the one kissing goodbye to the election come December 7, he has failed as a leader because he has not been able to unite his own party. we cannot trust him to run this country, Vote for visionary J.M WHO IS ALSO A GEN ...

• Samuel 7 years ago

Borrowing to invest in infrastructure only is wrong. How about the rest of the macroeconomy? Mahama's administration neglect agriculture, mining and manufacturing industries which employ over 80% of the working population. No ...

Mahama is no. 1 Liar, where is the investments he is talking about, how much interest are we paying for the borrowing? u and all ur cronnies will be persecuted after december election.

• Jay+++++++++++++London 7 years ago

MAHAMA'S TRICK IS BORROW BILLIONS AND JUST USE SOME MILLIONS OF IT ON PROJECTS AND THEN GO AHEAD TO TELL PEOPLE I BORROWED TO BUILD PROJECTS.

LET US CALCULATE THE COSTS OF ALL PROJECTS AND THE PROJECTS THAT MAHAMA KEEPS HA ...

• Tommy 7 years ago

Every government borrows to balance the economic development of their country. Mahama's concentration solely on infrastructure became very suspicious from the start. This is the area his government was able to inflate the con ...

• apuuuu 7 years ago

Dead goat President John Ford Drama Mahama thinks he can fool Ghanaians maybe some if the money you said borrow is for investment why are we in dumsor economic hardship too much corruption youth unemploym ...

• Joe Passah 7 years ago

You borrowed to steal.
    Give us a break.
    The 10 richest persons in Ghana are all top NDC gurus. 4 years a go they were as poor as church mouse. Asiedu ate from the crumps of Rawlings table. Today, they all look like americ ...

• Adu 7 years ago

What a dummy we got for president!!

• kk 7 years ago

I wonder what my president really studied at the university. topic bad

• ROSEMARY 7 years ago

Northerners should insist on questions and answers... Oooooooooohhhhh Ghana paaaaaaa nie?..... Shine your eyes oooooooooohhhhh..... It's about your future.... Not Ndc nor NPP..... It's about your future plus the future of you ...

• Ghana First 7 years ago

The new hospitals and schools will eventually employ nurses and teachers who are currently crying for employment. When the power infastructure is ready and industries have stable electricity, they can expand their capacities ...

• Yaa Yaa 7 years ago

To invest in landcruisers for Akua Donkor, John Dumelo, Mugabe etc. Away to Bole for good.

• Humble B. 7 years ago

Your government must account for what they spent the over 100 billion on.Your government owe this to the Ghanaian.
    SUBAH,SADA,Bus branding and dumsor is not investiment or is it in Mahama's Green Book?
    Mahama who saids he w ...

• Jig saw 7 years ago

Borrowed soo much for schools yet they are failing in their exams. Building hospitals yet no medicines,building roads yet 70% of roads in the capital are dirt tracks what a useless government .

• Ferguson 7 years ago

Put a price tag on all the projects for Ghanaians to know. Very simple and the figures will defend you. Creat loot and share is your focus. Shame on you.

• Ametsitsi 7 years ago

Invested in Woyome isofoton GYEEDA SADA REBRANDING OF BUSES. WOMEN. AND ALL NONSENSE. Am surprised Ghanaians have called this man president. He can't get anything. Just leave. You have failed.

• Ritewing 7 years ago

Mr. President tell Ghanaians where the projects you invested in and put price tags on each of them. We will believe, if you are able to do this. What you have fortotten to tell Ghanaians however, is the mushrooming of petrol ...

• Jay 7 years ago

1. Several Judgement Debts and payments to Woyome
    2, GYEEDA,
    3. SADA
    4. SUBAH
    5. Former CHRAJ Boss
    6, BRAZIL - GATE,
    7, National Service Secretariat (NSS)
    8. $ 20m NDC HQ
    9, Ghana National Identification Card ...

• TULA 7 years ago

This Ediotic full Jon Mahama keeps on telling people that he borrowed for development projects but then this full from Bole ; a thiff and the son of a latrine boy will never tell you have much receipts he was able to get to ...

Borrow, create , loot and share
    BCLS

• mr amin 7 years ago

Bad governance u just borrow to build infrastructure leaving the economy to die n
    no jobs, with which money do u expect the people to... vote the ndc out of office.

• Derek Sangari 7 years ago

What a government must do is not to borrow recklessly, not understand the balance between gingering the private sector to create employment, ensuring that decisions taken are in the interest of the people. This government on ...

• Ama Densi 7 years ago

The borrowing is just not commensurate with the investments you talk about. Where did the difference go?

• ROSEMARY 7 years ago

Even sada gyeeda etc thieves were rewarded with posts.... JOHNMAHAMA you are a huge hypocrite paaaaaaa...... After all the borrowing borrowings, you are now buying votes...... JOHNMAHAMA U have destroyed Ghana by overspending ...

• junior 7 years ago

THE EARLIER WE SEE TO IT THAT THIOS GUY VACATES THE GOVERMENT HOUSE , THE BETTER...HE IS NOT A PRESIDENTIAL MATERIAL ..HE BOUGHT IT FROM ATUGUBA

• Born NPP 7 years ago

We didn't know our President is just a fool like his messengers the montie 3/4Brainless Mahama , in fact , Oti Bless , your deputy minister designate for local government, who couldn't tell his real name to the betting c ...

• Akua AU 7 years ago

Is it good investment to borrow to brand busses and moreover over inflate the cost?

• YAM SELLER,KRACHI 7 years ago

Where and how much of the borrowed money was invested?

• Bonsu 7 years ago

How much did you borrow? Answer $100 Billion
    How much did you invest> Answer $20 Billion
    The difference is what has gone missing.
    Where is the money?

• jamaicaso 7 years ago

Invest in what? pans and pots for women in the volta region? Borrowing to buy disposable items is not wise. Be wise!!!

• Benny 7 years ago

Opana, that is great. you borrow the money to invest and then extended the investment to Dubai where you invested in Hotel. That is great. Ghana has a Hotel in Dubai as great Britain was having a franchaise in ghana .. GB. O ...

• wasclean 7 years ago

So govt, borrowed to buy outboard motors for fishermen in also an investment? so,where's the tax collected from the people of Ghana? is that also invested? Nobody talk about our taxes and Govt, is not saying nothing. Mahama w ...

• Keane 7 years ago

It's true "some" investment but the rest went on ghost names, corruption, judgement debts and interest from your pin I s heme of government finances ..,,

• JOHN 7 years ago

HOW CAN SOMEONE EVEN DREAM OF VOTING FOR A FAKE LAWYER WHO CANT TELL US WHERE HIS LAW CERTIFICATE IS TO BE PRESIDENT OF GHANA

• Kwasi USA 7 years ago

You borrowed and share with your families and friends.thief.corrupt in chief ...useless man.Kwaseato

• ROSEMARY 7 years ago

Run woyome run...... Hahahaaa hahahaaa ide biiiiiii kekeeeeeee thieves run...... JOHNMAHAMA you are a huge hypocrite paaaaaaa...... After all the borrowing borrowings, you are now buying votes...... JOHNMAHAMA U have destroye ...

• Ebola Ford Mahama 7 years ago

Why is the dumb man talking daily down on Ghanaians?In your personal life do borrow to the extent that you cannot even get money to feed your family?So who will use all "so called development projects" when your children die ...

• Amega 7 years ago

If previous govts had borrow like you had done, would this bloke have come to meet this country? This is borrowing without sense and spending with eyes closed.

• KOO 7 years ago

Mahama is not being logical and realistic in his borrowing analysis.If you have the estimate for a hospital and borrow,a hospital is requested and not a clinic.There are so many examples of huge sums of money going through th ...

• Ghanaians want to know. 7 years ago

Relative to the massive borrowing of the NDC government over almost eight years, we neither see any massive investment nor "feel" the outcome of any such investment the government claims. Youth unemployment is at record high, ...

• GHANANI 7 years ago

The same they did to Osagyefo.Every development project Osagyefo undertook was a waste of funds according to Busia.Even the Job 600 building ministers are using as their offices was a white elephant,Akosombo Dam,Tema harbor a ...

• Adoko kwesi , and they Will still vot 7 years ago

And for sada.do something before it is late.

• Obiri Yeboah. Lond 7 years ago

Mahamah is now telling Ghanaians that his government borrowed money to invest, this is a cock and a bull story. Mahamah borrow money for his selfish interests and to consider his friends and families. That is want is actuall ...