Politics of Wednesday, 18 June 2014

Source: Graphic.com.gh

NPP race: Joe Ghartey picks nomination forms

The Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Mr Joe Ghartey, has picked his nomination forms to contest the presidential primary of the New Patriotic Party (NPP).

With the picking of nomination forms, Mr Ghartey, who is also a Member of Parliament (MP) for Essikado-Ketan, becomes the sixth aspirant to have come forward to pick nomination forms to contest the primary scheduled for December 6 this year.

The other five aspirants are former MP for Offinso North, Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku, MP for Assuogyaman, Mr Kofi Osei Ameyaw, the 2008 and 2012 flag bearer of the NPP, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, former Information Minister,

Mr Stephen Asamoah Boateng, and the MP for Mampong, Mr Francis Addai Nimoh. The aspirants are paying GHc10,000 for picking the nomination forms, while the filing of the forms will attract a fee of GHc75,000.

Sources close to Mr Kwadwo Alan Kyeremanten, popularly called Alan Cash, one of the key aspirants, have disclosed that he will pick his nomination forms today.