Politics of Wednesday, 21 May 2014

Source: Graphic.com.gh

TESCON must renew commitment to NPP - Addai-Nimoh

Members of the Tertiary Education Institution Network (TESCON) of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) have been urged to to commit themselves to activities that would help the NPP to win power in 2016.

Thus, they have been asked to renew their commitment, devotion and spirit of voluntarism, and work hard to enable the NPP to wrest political power from the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC).

Mr. Addai-Nimoh, a member of the NPP who has declared his intention to contest the flagbearer position of the NPP, made the appeal when he delivered the keynote address at a handover ceremony in Kumasi where the outgoing executives of the TESCON branch on the University of Education, Kumasi Campus, last Saturday gave power to a new executive.

The ceremony was on the theme: "TESCON Our Strength, Our Future - Going back to the Spirit of Voluntarism.”

Mr. Addai Nimoh, who is also an NPP Member of Parliament (MP) for the Mampong Constituency, stressed that members of TESCON should work extra hard to ensure that the party would win the 2016 elections.

Mr. Addai-Nimoh reminded members of TESCON of their motto: “'Commitment without inducement” and said that would play a key role in the party's quest for securing power in 2016.

He advised the new executive members to provide quality leadership for their members based on hard work, honesty and humility.

Concerning his intention to contest the flagbearer slot of the party, Mr. Addai-Nimoh assured them that he would soon be with them to engage them on that matter.

The outgoing President of the TESCON, Nana Kwame Asafo-Adjei Ayeh, observed that the high enthusiasm during the time TESCON was established in 1998-99, at the time of Professor Adu Boahen to the end of the era of former President Kufuor, had waned.

He recalled that TESCON members at that time were engaged in vigorous education of the electorates concerning the aims and objectives of the party, as well as its manifesto.

Mr. Ayeh noted that it was the youth organ of TESCON that could win the election for the NPP, and, therefore, called on Mr. Sammy Awuku, the National Youth Organiser, and his team to ensure that they rekindled that spirit by engaging members of TESCON in useful ventures.

The new President of TESCON, Mr. Shaddrack Oppong, commended members for the confidence reposed in the new executive members and assured them that they would use all the qualities at their disposal to work hard to ensure the party regains power in 2016.

Mr. Oppong, however, appealed to the National Executives of the party to ensure that they set up clear modalities accompanied by sanctions, which would be applied to all the presidential aspirants.

That, he stressed, could enhance a clean election.

Other executive members include Mr Elvis Nkrumah (Vice-President), Mr Dapilah Abdulai (Secretary), Yahaya Adams (Deputy Secretary), Mr Emmanuel Owusu (Organiser), Mr Joseph Righteous (Deputy Organiser), Ms Alfreda Dede Oppong (Women Organiser) and Ms Jenevive ( Deputy Women Organiser).