Politics of Sunday, 14 July 2013

Source: citifmonline

10 members of the Ajumako District Assembly sacked

Ten members of the Ajumako District Assembly appointed by government have been sacked for refusing to confirm the president's nominee for DCE, Peter Light Koomson.

A similar incident in the Asikuma - Odobeng - Brakwa district has also seen some government appointees dismissed.

Speaking to Citi News on condition of anonymity, one of the dismissed appointees in the Ajumako District confirmed their dismissal.

“They notified me that, my government appointment had been withdrawn starting from the 9th of June, it is with respect to the first round of elections that took place.”

He further added that: “the concerns are that, the dismissed appointees did not vote for the DCE and for that reason, they have relieved us of our duties.”