Politics of Wednesday, 9 January 2013

Source: GNA

Speaker swears in two absentee MPs, suspends sitting

Mr Edward Doe Adjaho, the Speaker of Parliament, suspended sitting for one hour shortly after proceedings began with the swearing in of two members of Parliament, Mr Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, member for Assin Central and Mr Emmanuel Aboagye Didiaye member for Afram Plains.

The two members who were absent during the general swearing in ceremony of members of the sixth Parliament on Sunday dawn took the oaths of allegiance and oath of member of Parliament, affirming that they will bear true faith and allegiance to the Republic of Ghana as by law established and to uphold, preserve, protect and defend the constitution of the Republic of Ghana.

This was immediately after the Speaker took his seat and the two later assumed their seats.

Dr Benjamin Kunbuor, Majority Leader, presented papers on the floor of Parliament and moved a motion for the adoption of the report of Leadership on the formula for composition of membership of committees which was seconded by Mr Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu.

Papa Owusu-Ankomah reminded the House about the need for the House to make some progress with standing orders of Parliament.

He expressed the hope that the House would do justice to the matter as Parliament moved forward towards enhancement of Parliamentary proceedings. The suspension is to enable members to discuss the composition of committee for the proper functioning of Parliament.