You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2014 07 18Article 317563

Politics of Friday, 18 July 2014

Source: citifmonline

Uphold Ghana’s integrity – Mahama to new ambassadors

President John Mahama has warned the country’s ambassadors and high commissioners to uphold the dignity of Ghana wherever they find themselves.

According to the President, it is the responsibility of all representatives of the country to carry themselves in a manner that will not dent the image of the country.

“Take an interest in what is being done in the Mission to ensure that nothing is done to embarrass yourselves and to embarrass the country and the government,” he said.

President Mahama made these comments when he commissioned 12 persons including ace media practitioner, Alhaji Haruna Attah, to various countries to represent the country as ambassadors and high commissioners.

He admonished them to strive to enhance Ghana’s relations with the various countries they have been assigned to.

President Mahama recalled that there have been two unfortunate incidents with Ghana’s ambassadors to China and Japan and, therefore, cautioned them to “take an interest in everything that goes on in the Missions so that we will continue to have a positive image of our country.”

Speaking on behalf of his colleagues, Professor Samuel Mbrayeh Quartey, who is heading to Morocco, promised the commitment of the group to work diligently to attract trade to the country.

He pledged their unflinching loyalty to the government and the government, adding that “we will not be ambassadors drinking of champagne, but we are going to promote trade.”

The ambassadors and high commissioners are;

Mrs. Irene Dede Nyarko Maamah, Ambassador-designate to the Republic of Senegal

Mrs Mercy Yvonne Debrah-Karikari, High Commissioner-designate to Australia

Prof. Samuel Mbrayeh Quartey, Ambassador-designate to the Kingdom of Morocco.

Mr San Nasamu M. Asabigi, Ambassador-designate to the Republic of Burkina Faso.

Lt. Gen. Peter Augustine Blay, Ambassador-designate to the Republic of Cote D’Ivoire.

Mr Kwadwo Nyamekye-Marfo, Ambassador-designate to the Republic of Algeria.

Major-Gen. Carl Setorwu Modey, High Commissioner-designate to the Republic of Sierra Leone.

Mr Samuel Panyin Yaliey, High Commissioner-designate the Republic of India.

Dr Kodzo Kpoku Alabo, Ambassador-designate to the Russian Federation.

Alhaji Abdul-Rahman Haruna Attah, High Commissioner-designate to the Republic of Namibia.

Mr Benjamin Clement Eghan, High Commissioner-designate to the Republic of Malaysia.

Mr Alex Asum-Ahensan, Ambassador-designate to the Republic of Equatorial Guinea.