You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2011 11 22Article 224126

Politics of Tuesday, 22 November 2011

Source: GNA

Two Ministers and 12 DCEs to contest parliamentary polls in Ashanti

Kumasi, Nov. 22 GNA – Two Ministers and 12 Municipal and District Chief Executives (MDCEs) have received the nod to contest the 2012 parliamentary elections in the Ashanti Region.

Dr Joseph Oteng-Adjei, Energy Minister, and Dr Kwaku Agyemang-Mensah, the Regional Minister, were returned unopposed to contest for the Bosomtwe and the Atwima-Mponua seats.

Messrs Daniel Appau-Ohyeamang, Noah Asante, and John Ackon, Municipal Chief Executives (MCEs) for Asante-Mampong, Bekwai and Obuasi, respectively, also received the endorsement by delegates of the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC).

The rest are Messrs Kwaku Oppong-Kyekyeku Kaakyire, DCE for Afigya-Kwabre, Robert Bennet Forkuo, Amansie Central, Kwame Adarkwa, Bosome-Freho, Ebenezer Akuoko Frimpong, Sekyere Central, Samuel Kofi Appiah Kubi, Offinso North, Anthony Nyame, Atwima-Kwanwoma, Anthony Kwasi Ayarkwa, Sekyere South, and De-Graft Fokuo, Asante-Akim South.

Their colleagues in the Ahafo-Ano North, Adansi North, Kwabre East, Amansie West and Sekyere East were, however, defeated at the primary elections held at the weekend.

The Kumasi Metropolitan Chief Executives for Ejisu-Juaben and Offinso, alongside the DCEs for Atwima-Nwabiagya, Bosomtwe and Atwima-Mponua did not contest.

In all, three women managed to secure parliamentary tickets of the NDC in the 39 constituencies.

They are Ms Akua Afriyie, Offinso-South, Ms Memuna Kabore, Tafo, and Madam Vida Addae, Ejisu-Juaben.

Mr Yaw Owusu-Obimpeh, the NDC Regional Chairman, hailed the successful conduct of the primaries and said the job ahead was to pull resources together to ensure a resounding electoral victory in 2012.