You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2004 11 05Article 69248

Politics of Friday, 5 November 2004

Source: GNA

Sixteen to contest four seats in Bawku

Bawku (UER), Nov. 5, GNA - A total of 16 candidates are contesting the four parliamentary seats in the Bawku Municipality of the Upper East Region, in the forthcoming election.

Among these are two incumbent MPs, Madam Hawa Yakubu of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) for Bawku Central and Mr. Joseph Akudibilla, Independent MP for Garu-Tempane who has switched allegiance to the NPP. There is also a former MP for Garu-Tempane, Mr. Dominic Azumah of the National Democratic Congress (NDC).

The breakdown showed that the NPP and the NDC were the only parties to file nominations to contest in all the four constituencies. Convention People's Party (CPP) will contest in three, whilst the People's National Convention (PNC) has fielded candidates in two constituencies. Three are contesting as Independent candidates, out of which two come from Bawku Central.

In Bawku Central, which has the highest number of candidates, the incumbent MP Madam Hawa Yakubu who is contesting for the fourth time, would face stiff contention from another NPP member who has gone Independent, Mr. Abubakar Jibreel Ustaz, a 35-year-old social worker with Action Aid Ghana.

The rest are Mr. Mahama Ayariga for NDC, a 30-year-old lawyer and assemblyman for the Tinsungo electoral area, and Mr. Tiaban Kundiima, 29-year-old trader on the ticket of CPP.

Mr. Amidu Mamudu Sisala, a 58-year-old farmer on the ticket of PNC and another Independent candidate, Mr. Sadat Amadu, 29, farmer, completing the slot for Bawku Central.

For Garu-Tempane, the incumbent MP and Deputy Defence Minister, Joe Akudibilla would have a re-play of the contest in 2000 in which he defeated Mr. Dominic Azumah, of the NDC.

Also in the race is William Pullam, a 56-year-old Principal Enrolled Nurse on the ticket of PNC and Mr. Joseph Anaba Benibah, 47, a Principal Superintendent of Ghana Education Service at Garu. The Binduri contest is a straight fight between Mr. Mark Anthony Awuni, a retired educationist, who defeated the incumbent MP, Bernard Achiadago by a single vote during the NDC primaries, and Mr. Steven Yakubu, a 38-year-old real estate developer for the NPP. Others are Mr. Abarichie T. Yakubu, a 55-year-old farmer for CPP, and a 38-year-old agriculturist as Independent, Mr. Charles Aboyella. Mr. Yahaya Seidu, 49, a revenue collector of the Municipal Assembly and Mr. Simon Akuuye, a 50-year-old nursing officer are contesting for the NPP and NDC respectively in the newly created Pusiga Constituency.