You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2017 01 13Article 500695

Politics of Friday, 13 January 2017


Nana Addo must fire non-performing appointees – Kaminta Baizie

President Akufo-Addo has been urged to be ruthless in dealing with mediocrity and non-performance in his government.

He must immediately sack appointees who do not deliver on their mandates. The Head of the State Enterprises Commission, Dr Kaminta Baizie gave the advice in an interview on the Citi Breakfast Show on Friday.

According to him, Akufo-Addo must demonstrate that he is greatly expectant of results from his appointees and will not tolerate laziness.

Dr Baizie said, “He [Akufo-Addo] should not be afraid to fire and as far as I am concerned, he has to be ruthless. Anybody who is seen not to be delivering should move and let somebody else come in.” “If he doesn’t show that leadership… that he is willing to fire at the least opportunity, there will be laxation in the system and the wheels of change will slow down. This is not the time that he wants the slowdown in the system,” he added.

The last three days have seen the President appoint some 36 ministers to work in his administration and this has generated calls for the government to hit the ground running in order to meet the high expectations of Ghanaians.

Nana Akufo-Addo has given indications all his appointees are up to the task and will deliver on all the promises his party made to Ghanaians during the election 2016 campaign period.

Although the appointees are yet to be vetted by parliament to receive their approval, some have expressed their optimism at effectively serving in their respective portfolios.

‘Parliament forms committee to vet Akufo-Addo’s ministers’ Parliament before rising for a 2-week break on Wednesday has constituted a 26-member Appointments Committee known as the Vetting Committee that will be tasked to vet the nominees for various ministerial portfolios from the Ghana’s President, Nana Akufo Addo.

It is chaired by Joseph Osei-Owusu, MP for Bekwai and First Deputy Speaker of Parliament and Haruna Iddrisu, Minority Leader and MP for Tamale South as ranking member.