You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2018 05 05Article 649007

Politics of Saturday, 5 May 2018


NPP woman stops suspended Sammy Crabbe from picking nomination forms

A loyalist to President Nana Akufo-Addo stopped the aspirations of suspended NPP Second National Vice Chairman Sammy Crabbe, who planned to contest elections in the upcoming national delegates congress.

NPP supporter Hajia Fati screamed invectives at Crabbe, who has been serving a suspension since December 2015.

There was no sympathy from Hajia as she created a scene after encountering Crabbe, who is serving a 14-month-plus suspension. Crabbe insists his suspension is illegal.

"Where is Sammy Crabbe? Sammy Crabbe? We don't want his money ooo,” she yelled as she walked up and about the party’s office in Adabraka in Accra.

The scene lasted for more than 10 minutes, Joy News' political reporter Parker Wilson said.

Others at the party's office tried to calm the Akufo-Addo loyalist as Crabbe attempted to pick a form sold at 6,000 cedis – a form needed to contest for National Chairman.

They explained to the woman that it is okay for Crabbe to pick the form because he would pose no threat in the elections scheduled for June, but the woman would not budge.

Sammy Crabbe initially came to the office with a banker's draft to buy the forms, but he was told only cash would suffice.

He reportedly went back to bring cash, but Hajia insisted he should go back.

Backing the fury of Hajia Fati, NPP National Youth Organiser Sammy Awuku said Crabbe has no weight in the party as his suspension remains.

Alongside Crabbe, Kwabena Agyapong who is NPP General Secretary and Paul Afoko who is National Chairman are all serving indefinite suspensions.

They were accused of attempts to cause disunity in the party while general elections were approaching.

The NPP boat was rocked on almost a monthly basis in 2015 with constant reports of internal party struggles.

The incessant bickering persisted until calm was restored following the exit of the suspended three from the party's national leadership.