You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2018 04 22Article 645266

General News of Sunday, 22 April 2018


NPP regional elections: Aspirant loses Greater Accra Chairmanship race despite MPs’ support

Divine Otoo Agorhom beat his main contender, Alfred Boye to emerge as the Greater Accra Regional Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP).

Mr. Agorhom polled a total of 276 valid votes to defeat his nearest contender Mr Boye by seven votes, after the latter polled 269, in a very keenly contested race.

The polls, which were held at the Trade Fair Centre also saw a third aspirant, Archibald Cobbina earn 65 of the total valid votes cast.

Prior to the elections the Chairman of the Greater Accra NPP MPs, Titus Glover, declared Mr. Boye as the best candidate stating that all the MPs in the region were behind him.

Asked if the move to support one candidate would not destabilize the unity of the party, Mr. Glover retorted “I don’t care”, reiterating his stance that Mr. Boye was the best man for the job.

Mr. Agorhom subsequently described their position as unfair and inconsistent with the values of the party.

Initially, Mr. Boye refused to concede defeat and demanded a recount of the ballots.

He claimed some of his votes had been added to Archibald Cobbina’s. But some supporters were heard shouting “no recount”.

The recount went ahead anyway with Mr. Agohorm again emerging victorious.

The new executives were sworn in by the National Youth Organiser of the Party, Sammy Awuku.

The electoral process had been rocked with some confusion as some aspirants protested how other candidates acted as polling agents for themselves and sat right in the front row, close to the voters.

According to the embittered aspirants, their counterparts sought to influence delegates to vote for them.

Another source of confusion was when some delegates found out their names were not in the register. It took the intervention of the police to quell the chaos.

Results for GAR NPP Regional Executives Elections

1. Divine Agorhom – 276
2. Alfred Boye – 269
3. Archibald Cobbina – 65

1. Sabo Adam 267
2. Nii Odarlai Parker 299
3. Solomon Asante – 42

1. Prince Obeng
2. Tetteh Bossah
3. Ibrahim Tetteh (Finidi)
4. Francis Ebo Mensah

Women’s Organiser
1. Roseline Danquah – 41
2. Grace Acheampong – 282
3. Vida Owusu-67
4. Humu Dilly Saeed – 188
5. Naa Torshie Torto- 32

Youth Organiser
1. Philip Doe 109
2. Kwesi Obeng-Ofosu 165
3. Boamah Osei Gideon 6
4. Kissi Yeboah Prince 16
5. Moses Abor 309

1. Mordecai Quarshie 91
2. Safura Saeed 56
3. Anyorkor B. Ampomsem116
4. Rachel Abena Tutu 218
5. Hajia Moda Zinabu Issaka 23
6. John Manuh 3

Nasara Coordinator
1. Tahiru Hashi 135
2. Prince Aminu Saana 132
3. Hajj Ahmed Suraju 17
4. Abdul Aziz Yahaya 21
5. Alhaji Kamil Hussain 220
6. Yussif Salisu 19
7. Umar Sani 18
8. Alhaji Adams Daud 49