You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2007 08 28Article 129640

Politics of Tuesday, 28 August 2007

Source: GNA

Dr Sowah to contest La Dadekotopon seat for NPP

Accra, Aug 28, GNA - Dr Francis Nii Annang Sowah has been elected the New Patriotic Party (NPP) parliamentary candidate to contest for the 2008 general election for the La Dadekotopon constituency seat. Dr Sowah who lost narrowly to Mr Robertson Torto Laryea in the 2004 delegates conference polled more than half of the eligible vote cast. He had 63 out of the 113 votes cast to beat Miss Benie Brown, immediate past assemblywoman for Kaajdrano who had 20 votes, Mr Godfred Ako-Nai, former MP, who obtained 19 votes with Mr Oscar Odoi Glover getting 11 votes.

Speaking after the election, Dr Sowah, a Legal Practitioner promised to mobilise all the human resources irrespective of the one they supported to work as a team to wrestle the seat from the NDC. Dr Sowah thanked the delegates for the confidence reposed in him and commended the delegates for their maturity by avoiding "wide jubilation and the casting of insinuation after the declaration of the results.

He noted that instead of insinuations he rather observed that most of the delegates consoling one another, which was a good sign for a united front to win power for the NPP.

"For the sake of the party and the development of the La township and its people I am happy that the contestants who lost have pledged to throw their weight behind me to reclaim the seat," Dr Sowah said. Mr Peter Ala Adjetey, Former Speaker of Parliament and father of the party in the constituency advised parliamentary candidates to stop lording it over the electorate after they had been helped to win their seats.

Present at the conference were Mr Lord Commey, National Organiser of the NPP, Mrs Gladys Dedey Mann, Constituency Chairperson, Mr Doku Kwei, Patron of the Ledzekuku constituency and Mr John Apo Tetteh, Former Organiser of the Kpone-Katamanso constituency. 28 Aug 07