You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2017 01 14Article 500960

Flagstaff House to be renamed – Hamid

Read Comments Comments (127)

• Hamid 7 years ago

What a foolish reason to keep changing the name of seat of government

• Sigma, London 7 years ago

Name it Black Star House simple and beautiful! Jubilee House does not sound right at allllllllllllllllll

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

AKUFO LACKS VISION... more focused on "triviality"

• AKYEM MAFIA 7 years ago

ARE YOU SURPRISED? THE PEOPLE GET WHAT THEY VOTE FOR, WE VOTED FOR A WEE/GANJA/INDIAN HEMP SMOKER TO GO INTO THE FLAGSTAFF HOUSE, NOT WHAT ID THE COMPLAIN FOR! GOD WANTED TO LET US LEARN, NOT PUNISH US, HE WANTED US TO LET SO ...

• PIMP MASTER 7 years ago

Foolishness in power. Now some npp footsoldiers will be given the million dollar contract to print new letters and related stationery with the new name.

• PIMP MASTER 7 years ago

Letterheads and related stationary.

• X-ray 7 years ago

This 'stationary' is rather wrong. The first one 'stationery' was correct.

• Wells 7 years ago

As a new government we should not spend the government's money on such things. Why can we put it to vote during elections for all of us to contribute to the name and vote with the largest number winning as the final name. Thi ...

• Paul Gati 7 years ago

Flagstaff House is the home for the Colonial Commander of British Forces.
    You get Flagstaff House in Canada, Australia, Hong Kong and many of the British Colonies. Why should Ghana still keep it we are independent, then

• Atta -USA 7 years ago

Ei! Here they come again ooo! Let them waste time thinking about naming facilities instead of planning what will benefit the nation. I remember they used a whole year under former President Kuffour chasing NDC shadows instead ...

• Outer City 7 years ago

I like the "Black Star House' idea too

• $aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 7 years ago

Maintain the current name Flagstaff. Carry on tradition

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

Foolish boy. Read the full article!

• JK 7 years ago

It was stupid for ndc to come and change it in the first place. That was a new structural development so it was right to name it. Why did ndc have to come and change it again? What did they gain by doing that. Do they thi ...

• Rene - london 7 years ago

say this to your ndc opposition party.

• Tkn 7 years ago

Give your reasonable reasons to maintain that name "flag staff house" instead of insulting, you the intelligent one.

• JEFF 7 years ago

Pls no need to change the again , all is cost to state

• Graham 7 years ago

Call it Jubilee House at Flagstaff Square.

• Beez 7 years ago

Nice one!

Hahaha NPP and NDC ping pong has started. Like the shs system 4 years or 3 years. Don't worry mr when NDC comes to power one day they will change it.

• Nana Malik 7 years ago

Hehehehe, lol.Are we serious as a people?All these NPP and NDC guys are holders of big big degrees.Anyway,I don't even know why the NDC changed the name.It just sounds stupid to me.And now NPP is back

• Jonna 7 years ago

People didn't vote you to come and plagiarise speeches and change names. You idiots should better start fixing the economy, the one district one factory, one village one dam and the other ridiculous promises.

• Joe Boy 7 years ago

Jonna l want to ask you one simple question. Why is it that ndc people find everything impossible. You see this is why you couldn't do anything for ghana because ndc haven't got any vision. You are all laughing at all the pr ...

• Elsie 7 years ago

To fix the economy is to imply the economy is broken in the first place. I'm glad that you can acknowledge that all was not right with the previous government.

• BOY KOFI 7 years ago

The cedi is falling like kakai and you are only interested in renaming the old Flagstaff house to what?You can't change the history of that place and it doesn't even make any sense at all.It seems you came to power to show of ...

thinks small

• Atoa 7 years ago

These npp people are so petty its not funny. What is in a name? It is what u do there thst matters. Why are u people so backward and vindictive. You can call it nana addo house no one cares but i am very sure nothing good wil ...

• BOY KOFI 7 years ago

Let them think that they will be in power forever whilst the Cedi is falling like kakai.Don't worry be happy.

focusing on triviality

• Wiseman-USA 7 years ago

@Atoa, name is nothing that is why you have hidden your original name and adopt Atoa (which itself is a name) just to create confusion. Ghana's seat of government was built by the Ghanaian effort hence we reserve the right to ...

• Sofia 7 years ago

Whaaaaaaaat!!!!!

• TEE 7 years ago

PRESIDENT ADDO PLEASE RENAMED RHE AIRPORT INTO OSAGYEFUO DR. KWAME NKRUMAH YES

• Adoley 7 years ago

The person who built the edifice name it jubilee house why did NDC change it after saying alot of negative things about it construction. Change it now.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 7 years ago

The place was long time ago in Bethlehem called the Flagstaff House by the first president of the republic because that was his abode. Get it now, Mumu?

• Elsie 7 years ago

I think you might be new in the country. It's a completely different building.

• TEE 7 years ago

KWAME NKRUMAH PERIOD

• Jonna 7 years ago

This holder of an embarrassing 3rd class degree in economics started calling it Jubilee House during his campaign. People thought he was making a mistake, but others predicted he was planning to win and change the name. Typic ...

• SANKOFA 7 years ago

There are more important issues facing the nation like children on the Ghanaian streets selling food stuffs and ice water instead to be in the classroom to be our future leaders when the corrupt and selfish leaders of toda ...

• Shaibu 7 years ago

Haaaa is good to change the name because kuffour first gave the name after prof Atta mills gave another name NDC the no like anything NPP bringing it the foolishs

• Elsie 7 years ago

I believe he is not the minister designate for gender and children. There's a reason why we have division of labour. Address your concerns at whoever is in charge of that. All this suggests that the previous government did no ...

• the capitalist 7 years ago

What happened to the thief mahama when he called the nkrumah interchange Dubai ?
    The most stupid and vindictive president Ghana ever had was do little atta mills.
    No doubt his killer mahama continued with his incompetence a ...

• bashings 7 years ago

You are cursed

• KB 7 years ago

Name some Arc Museum, Jubilee House and not the seat of Government,Mr lecturer.
    Is the nation still marking time @ 50, even @ 60yrs now?
    Intellectually ignorant people, jubilee house was wrong name for the seat of Governmen ...

• ACTIVIST 7 years ago

THIS ALBINO IS DEEPLY ROOTED WITH ARROGANCE,AM NPP BUT HIS STYLE OF COMMUNICATION ,SORRY CANT STAND IT.WHEN HE OUTLINED HIS ROLE WEN QUIZZED BY JOY HE INITIMATED ARHIN AND CO,THEIR ROLE IS (BACK DOOR) JOBS,GIVING MEMOS TO JOU ...

shallow minded

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

Name it Black Star House (BSH) forever! Black Star is still shinning!!!!!!!!

• Danny Boy, Tema 7 years ago

This Albino is lucky to be in Ghana. If it were some of these East African countries he would have been used for rituals. Stop this nonsense and get serious with Ghanaians.

• Ohene 7 years ago

They should have demolished,built a new edifice at Osu castle and name it Osu castle instead of renaming someone's child.

• Agyeman 7 years ago

Okoampa Ahoofe campaigned tireless for the NPP. I will suggest they the Flagstaff House after him.

• Nii Nana 7 years ago

Rename every building, street, city and river

• Homeless 7 years ago

A decorated donkey is still an ass. What we need to see is the dams, jobs and well earned money in people's pocket. Stop distorting our history. The White House has always remained a Whitehouse irrespective of who occupy it. ...

• Carol 7 years ago

I think it should remain Flagstaff house

• Kelly 7 years ago

Why not cape coast castle and all that jubilee house ? When shall we grow as a country ,.at the time when some countries are busy creating new things to better the life of its citizens we are busy changing names .

I don't understand why president Mills tried to undo whatever President Kufour did or achieved? NDC think they have power do change names and NPP should accept it.I support the name change.If NDC comes to power they can chang ...

• Norgbedzie, Ketu 7 years ago

It has to change. When NDC come back after 40 years they can build one & name it Flagstaff house, who cares. President Kufour built the palace, named it Jubilee House. If NDC needs a flagstaff house they can build one when th ...

• BOY KOFI 7 years ago

2020 IS JUST AROUND THE CORNER.Thank you.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

AFTER 50 YEARS WHAT HAVE WE ACHIEVED.
    JUBILEE HOUSE IS AN ADOPTED NAME,LETS CALL IT THE FLAGSTAFF HOUSE.

• nsem pii 7 years ago

Ghanaians shouldn't worry this is their first infrastructure by renaming flag staff to jubilee house and we'll see it as one of their achievements someday. Look at their last brochure so far so good Monkeys in their sanctuary ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

Great ideas!

• Abongo Boy 7 years ago

You're forward looking person

• Abongo Boy 7 years ago

We cannot forever live in British Slave House called Castle - that is past so also Flag Staff House which has no meaning other than dictatorship

• Abongo Boy 7 years ago

If trivial you can stop naming your town, kids, dogs or country.

• Andy 7 years ago

Will the renaming of the flagstaff house bring three sqare meals to our table? Or is Prof Mills not a Ghanaian that he's not eligible to name Ghana's property?

• Wiseman 7 years ago

How old are you and your level of thinking idiot.Did Atta Mills build the Jubilee house.If not then why did he rename it Flagstaff house.Why did NDC rename Ohene Djan Sports stadium.Fool think properly and dont be a blinded w ...

• ASEM WO MANO 7 years ago

Africans are so stupid and idiots when it comes to using their minds. Stupid people.
    What A Nation?

• Andy 7 years ago

Will the renaming of the flagstaff house bring three sqare meals to our table? Or is Prof Mills not a Ghanaian that he's not eligible to name Ghana's property? Think wisely.

• JDM Toaso 7 years ago

We want change.The NPP signature phrase . Trust me this will be the only change in 4 years.

• Atinga 7 years ago

Changing the name would just the lives of your people in the north. Idiot.

• ######## 7 years ago

WE ALL KNEW THIS WAS COMING. AKUFFO DOPE HEAD CAN EVEN RENAME FLAGSTAFF HOUSE KYEBI. WHO CARES?

• Wiseman 7 years ago

And you a double twat imbecile.Hope you are still high on dope.Foolish man.If you dont stop it I will come after you all time.I have tagged you and will be watching you idiot

• The lone prophet of Jehovah 7 years ago

This is foolishness of his kind Ghanaians are hungry they want money in their pocket about what you promise,changing of name will not grow the economy shalom peace

I have told you this guy is not a good material for the position. What an infantile reason? Talking as if NPP used their own money to build this house. It's just not good for our image. May be call it Jubillee flagstaff House

• AKWAPIMBA, LAS PALMAS DE G.C.,SPAIN 7 years ago

-THIS IS PING-PONG.BETTER THINGS TO DO.THE GHANAIAN VOTED FOR GOOD ECONOMY.CREATING THIS AND THAT IS NOT SOLVING GHANAIANS PROBLEMS.RATHER SPENDING THE MONEY,WHILE THEY NEEDED GOOD SALARY.

• DeDe Ba 7 years ago

U may call it COFFIN or CASKET its just to keep a DEAD BODY. GHANAIANs are still suffering,all our hope is to come OUT of this long time Eco-Mess,which MAHAMA deeped it futher for us. Pls help us out and stop this usless bran ...

• giga 7 years ago

Borrow 35m dolar and spent 90mdolar and can not account for the excess.

• David Adaboah 7 years ago

Please please stop this useless changing of names. It rather results in cost to the state. We need jobs, better health care, education for all and not changing names. It is not productive Hamid.

• FACT 7 years ago

Jubilee is connotes or describes a special anniversary and so are we saying it will be changed at Ghana's centennial anniversary too?
    Flagstaff Hse cannot be an appropriate name, neither would Jubilee.
    Ghana needs a befitti ...

• Metez 7 years ago

You can name it whatever you wish, but when Ndc comes back to power 2020, the name staff flag house will come back. Unqualified Npp government. Everything of yours is tribal, why? Tweaaaaaaaa

• Kwajo Nyarko-Mensah 7 years ago

Let us just rename it BLACK STAR or BLACK STAFF HOUSE and cut out all the political humdrums surrounding our seat of government. This house is not owned by any one Political Party.

• Abotare 7 years ago

Nonsense. Is this why you were voted into power? Ghanaians are suffering and need relief. That should be your priority not renaming a mere building. This is insane.

• My Opinion 7 years ago

Mr Hamid, the name should have been changed already. NPP has the political capital, NPP was voted back to power by majority of reasonable Ghanaians, Ghanaians have entrusted you (NPP) to make all decisions on their behalf per ...

• kwame 7 years ago

cheap talk, so when we in 100 yrs we have to call it century house. foolishness

• Trusty 7 years ago

Mr Hamid is very stupid. Flagstaff house is the name before he was born what Ghanaians want is for the Npp to fulfil it's promises and not changing names of edifices. Change of name.

• ONIPANUA 7 years ago

I think Hamid is also a wee smoker.When they smoke their wee they just get up and talk nonsense.Whatever name you and the porky dwarf president give to the flagstaff House will be temporary.We have got fools in charge of the ...

• AMATX USA 7 years ago

Was is it necessary for Agya Atta to change the name was he not the same person who said he will use the place for poultry farm they are all hypocrites even his name has vanished from ndc books long time ago

• Yaa Anane 7 years ago

Ghanafuopaa, White Hiuse is White House, _#10 Downing Street is # 10 Downing Street, irrespective of which political party is in power.

GHANAHOUSE it should be called !

• ObaaYaa 7 years ago

Pls this nothing to debate about it. Wether u rename it or not, its not for NPP nor NDC. The most important thing is how to fix the numerious problems facing the country. We voted for change period.

• oppong london 7 years ago

the flagstaff house should be changed anyway,because it was built by npp named then jubilee house and ndc changed it to flagstaff house,so there is the need to change it back to jubilee house.

• ObaaYaa 7 years ago

Hon. pls humble ur self for Allah to give u wisdom. No imposing on Ghanaians."Obia ny3 obia". U know today but not morrow.

• Yakubu 7 years ago

Can you imagine the financial cost of such a change? Just because one govt changed the name does not make it ok for another to do so. Changing the name means you need to change letter heads and other important documents which ...

• maxy 7 years ago

Didn't ndc change letter heads when they were changing the name??....did u do that for them for free???? Crap

• Yebopower 7 years ago

Juju house sounds better

• Eddie 7 years ago

Npp and insults. That is nothing goes right with your party.

• crusader 7 years ago

Change the name to jubilee stool house and kill a cow. It will be changed to flagstaff house no matter how long it takes. The original name is flagstaff house. You can't disrespect kn and get away with pettiness.

• Ben 7 years ago

I wonder how many ministers and MPs are going to live in colonial bungalows in cantonment, Adabraka, Ridge, and many other places. If the name is anything political party cherished so much they call the site with original nam ...

• Ben 7 years ago

Ghana is a laughing stock. We think we are so clever. The world is watching us. Forward ever backward never. Call it FlAGSTAFF Jubilee House

• Teacher Ebo 7 years ago

It is my worry that should have been the first agenda for npp. why should somebody give birth for another person to name it.It was my dislike for Atta Mills.

• GOOD FATHER 7 years ago

You even name it Nima house nobody cares.

• Step 7 years ago

Fix the economy you're here to change name... Will the name put food on our tables... Ah... Politicians paa... What's the sense in that Jubilee house name kraa... So when we celebrate Ghana at hundred what will you call it?

• john mahama 7 years ago

keep the colonial name. do not change it.

• Fish man 7 years ago

Do our politician will not learn but keep making the same mistake over and over what's the sense in renaming it, what wil it bring on board nothing but rather cost of renaming all the assets there.so it's that we can't think. ...

• Abdulai Mahamadu 7 years ago

We will have different names for the same Presidential Palace.

• Dominic 7 years ago

..... Names have vibrations that was why Kofi Nuah became Kwame Nkrumah. Any sense in this? If the NDC people do not like the 1st name have they given us the spiritual insight i of the change they made during Edza Atta-Mirss ...

• Felix Debrah 7 years ago

The name must be changed, not soon; rather immediately.

• Kkd 7 years ago

Foolish npp politicians have started making unnecessary mistakes. The people said they are hungry and you are rather thinking of name changing. Ghanaians will have themselves to blame. Kwasiasem kwa

• Deepmind 7 years ago

Jubilee Flagstaff House

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

IF NPP CAN CREATE MORE ADDITIONASL MINISTERIES, ZONGO, RAILWAY, BUSINESS, AVIATION,FISHERIES; WATER,. SANITATION AND CEMETARY MINISTRIES IN ALL, MAKING THIRTY MINISTERS (30) WITH INCOMING DEPUTY MINISTERS MAKIMNG A TOTAL OF N ...

• Kofi Sam - USA 7 years ago

The seat of government belong to Ghana and not to either NDC or NPP and I don't see the rationale in changing the name with the party in power . This demonstrates immaturity of Ghanaians in general . Let's stay with the nam ...

• Ben 7 years ago

Parliament should come out with a name and stick to it. Emancipation starts with the mind and not the physical structure.

• Hon.Adenyo Crystal 7 years ago

I strongly believe that by giving the above name to national palace would great more future hope. H.E Nana Addo and the NPP's are really thinking rational

• Boafo 7 years ago

The original name is Flagstaff house before you were born so stop lying to the people and think of what you can do to the Nation as a minister than change of titles

• Boafo 7 years ago

The original name is Flagstaff house before you were born so stop lying to the people and think of what you can do to the Nation as a minister than change of titles

• hhhhhhhhhhhhhh 7 years ago

Indian spiritualist in Ghana ?
    black Ghanaian Indian black magic master o244908520 of the night,,,
    money ritual
    political rituals
    protect against sick enemies
    invisible powers gun power
    contact Indian man

• Kofiba. 7 years ago

We Africans seriously need to change our mentality otherwise the whites will continue to laugh at us. How can NPP complain about the bad state of the economy and spend money again to change a name. Are we serious people. I th ...

• Boafo 7 years ago

This party is noted for original tittles changing since NLC Busia era, at any occasion or renovations in their time has to be given a new name to suite themselves not the country. The Accra International airport changed to Ko ...

• RAVEN.... 7 years ago

Call it FREEDOM HOUSE in remembrance of Ghana's independence, plain & simple. ....let's stop the needless back and forth, my thoughts

• Pascal 7 years ago

is good for them

• VOTE NEEDED 7 years ago

IT'S DOESN'T MAKE ANY SENSE FLIPPING THE NAME BACK AND FORTH . HERE ARE THE NAMES THAT GHANAIANS HAS TO DECIDE AS FOLLOWS
    (1)FLAGSTAFF HOUSE
    (2)NANA YAA ASANTEWAAH HOUSE
    (3)BLACK HOUSE
    (4)CAPITAL HOUSE
    (5)GHANA HOUS ...

• wak fofana 7 years ago

dis is nonsense, keep changing, stupid peoples.
    every citizen of Ghanaian kw de place is call flagstaff house so u cn even call it Akufo addo resident we dnt care fooooooooools

• KO 7 years ago

Akuffo Addo should not fly a flag into the jubilee house likewise any foreign president and foreign diplomats with flags. I think the name of the flagstaff quarters opposite be demolished and rebuild and name jubilee quarters ...

• Elsie 7 years ago

I wonder why the cedi is falling. What government did we have for 8years that couldn't fix that.

• Reason 7 years ago

You make no sense, Mustapha. why then, did you give the contract to Chinese.
    Stop this.

• PROF. GULARI EMMANUEL. 7 years ago

Changing the name from the current" FlagStaff House" to " Jubilee House" is never the solution to satisfy political ambition but maybe misplaced priority. Can the White House ever be changed?

A question! If Ghana obtains ...

• Paul Gati 7 years ago

Accra Sports Stadium should be changed back to Ohene Djan Sports Stadium. Baba Yara Sports Stadium was not changed, why Accra one was changed by NDC

• James 7 years ago

This is what happens when you vote for an old man. The man is only interested in traditions and ideologies he doesn't care about addressing the pressing needs of the ordinary ghanian.

• John Donkoh 7 years ago

Useless venture! You're voted to power to repair and rebuild the economy. Let's put aside these pettiness in our politics. Naming the seat of government is not a priority!

• hor 7 years ago

It is said that the wise learn from other people's mistakes but the stupid learn from their own mistakes. Their own committee report is not yet out but popular opinion has it that arrogance caused the NDC to lose the last ele ...